Sweet and Sour Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Nice flavor. We served with rice. I didn't use butter just the grease remaining in the pan from the sausage (even after draining the sausage and placing it aside). I made my own S&S sauce using a recipe online. It was amazing! My husband loved it and told me never to buy from the store again. The recipe is so easy - Combine 1/3 c. rice vinegar, 4 Tbsp brown sugar, 1 Tbsp ketchup, and 1 tsp soy sauce in small saucepan and bring to boil. Mix 2 tsp cornstarch with 4 teaspoons water and stir into boiling sauce mixture to thicken. Makes 1/2 cup sauce and was enough to coat the veggies and sausage. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was quite easy and pretty good for a quick change to smoked sausage. I tripled the sauce and hot pepper. I also added a green pepper and another vidalia onion. I added 1 large can of drained pineapple chunks in juice- the kids fought over those. next time I may toss in a few maraschino cherries and see what the kids do. Last week we had a potluck at work. I kept it warm in a crock pot and served rice on the side - it was gone before anything else on the table. Again, the pineapple were a hot commodity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I made this tonight & it turned out really well. What an easy recipe. I did add extra sweet/sour sauce like the other reviewers recommended, which was great because I served it over white rice. Next time I'll get a better (more authentic) s&s sauce. But the peppers/onions in the sauce with the sausage was really really good. My husband is already looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This recipe is delicious. You HAVE to use a whole bottle of Sweet and SOur- and serve over rice. I added some crushed red peppers, and 2 cloves of minced garlic. PERFECT blend! Kids, husband, and myself loved, loved, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rovervol
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I don't think I would have even tasted 2 Tablespoons of sweet and sour sauce; I added the entire 10oz jar and it came out perfect for me. I didn't add any hot spice because I used a cajun-spiced smoked sausage. Really easy to make. Just my style of cooking. I disagree with this fat content rating. Is it the sweet and sour? Other similar recipes here using smoked sausage have less than half the fat of this. As an aside, I took a taste of this before adding the s&s - delicious on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This really is a great dish that's easy and fast. I followed the recipe as written but added more of the sweet and sour sauce so I would have extra juice for the rice, added a can of drained sliced carrots, and a half can of drained pineapple chunks. The flavors really blend well together. Everyone needs to try this dish, you'll be hooked when you do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
My husband and I really liked it but my 6 and 3 year old did not. O well...I tried. The pineapple made the dish great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
this is very good and quite simple to make.check out the s&s reciepe on allrecipes before buying at store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great Recipe! Thanks! I did add extra sauce per the other reviews and instead of cutting peppers and onions I picked up a bag of pepper stirfry. It worked perfectly and no fussing with cutting :) This will be a new staple at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is a great dish. Somethinng different for a change. I just used 1-lb. sausage, and med. size peppers. I did use more sweet and sour sauce, because I put it over rice and wanted extra sauce. Also had some left over pineapple so i through it in too! Thanks for the recipie, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States