Sweet and Sour Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Nice flavor. We served with rice. I didn't use butter just the grease remaining in the pan from the sausage (even after draining the sausage and placing it aside). I made my own S&S sauce using a recipe online. It was amazing! My husband loved it and told me never to buy from the store again. The recipe is so easy - Combine 1/3 c. rice vinegar, 4 Tbsp brown sugar, 1 Tbsp ketchup, and 1 tsp soy sauce in small saucepan and bring to boil. Mix 2 tsp cornstarch with 4 teaspoons water and stir into boiling sauce mixture to thicken. Makes 1/2 cup sauce and was enough to coat the veggies and sausage. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was quite easy and pretty good for a quick change to smoked sausage. I tripled the sauce and hot pepper. I also added a green pepper and another vidalia onion. I added 1 large can of drained pineapple chunks in juice- the kids fought over those. next time I may toss in a few maraschino cherries and see what the kids do. Last week we had a potluck at work. I kept it warm in a crock pot and served rice on the side - it was gone before anything else on the table. Again, the pineapple were a hot commodity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I made this tonight & it turned out really well. What an easy recipe. I did add extra sweet/sour sauce like the other reviewers recommended, which was great because I served it over white rice. Next time I'll get a better (more authentic) s&s sauce. But the peppers/onions in the sauce with the sausage was really really good. My husband is already looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rovervol
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I don't think I would have even tasted 2 Tablespoons of sweet and sour sauce; I added the entire 10oz jar and it came out perfect for me. I didn't add any hot spice because I used a cajun-spiced smoked sausage. Really easy to make. Just my style of cooking. I disagree with this fat content rating. Is it the sweet and sour? Other similar recipes here using smoked sausage have less than half the fat of this. As an aside, I took a taste of this before adding the s&s - delicious on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This recipe is delicious. You HAVE to use a whole bottle of Sweet and SOur- and serve over rice. I added some crushed red peppers, and 2 cloves of minced garlic. PERFECT blend! Kids, husband, and myself loved, loved, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
My husband and I really liked it but my 6 and 3 year old did not. O well...I tried. The pineapple made the dish great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This really is a great dish that's easy and fast. I followed the recipe as written but added more of the sweet and sour sauce so I would have extra juice for the rice, added a can of drained sliced carrots, and a half can of drained pineapple chunks. The flavors really blend well together. Everyone needs to try this dish, you'll be hooked when you do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
this is very good and quite simple to make.check out the s&s reciepe on allrecipes before buying at store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great Recipe! Thanks! I did add extra sauce per the other reviews and instead of cutting peppers and onions I picked up a bag of pepper stirfry. It worked perfectly and no fussing with cutting :) This will be a new staple at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is a great dish. Somethinng different for a change. I just used 1-lb. sausage, and med. size peppers. I did use more sweet and sour sauce, because I put it over rice and wanted extra sauce. Also had some left over pineapple so i through it in too! Thanks for the recipie, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States