Sweet and Sour Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This recipe was really good! I did add a pepper of each color for more coloring and veggies. I also added a can of chunk pineapples & used a jar of sweet N Sour sauce. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Nice flavor. We served with rice. I didn't use butter just the grease remaining in the pan from the sausage (even after draining the sausage and placing it aside). I made my own S&S sauce using a recipe online. It was amazing! My husband loved it and told me never to buy from the store again. The recipe is so easy - Combine 1/3 c. rice vinegar, 4 Tbsp brown sugar, 1 Tbsp ketchup, and 1 tsp soy sauce in small saucepan and bring to boil. Mix 2 tsp cornstarch with 4 teaspoons water and stir into boiling sauce mixture to thicken. Makes 1/2 cup sauce and was enough to coat the veggies and sausage. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Very good!! Instead of adding cayenne and hot sauce i put in just a tiny bit of garlic chili paste, served dish over rice. Was wonderful, will definately be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Added LOTS more sweet and sour (about 1/2 of a jar). Thought it was very tastey. Served over white rice so it really needed that extra sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I enjoyed the combination of flavors. I made my own Sweet & Sour sauce and used probably about 8 ounces so that there would be plenty of sauce to serve over rice. And I added more peppers & onions than the original recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Delicious. . I put more bell peppers and onion, and added garlic. Served it over brown rice. Both my husband and step-son enjoyed. Definitely on the "make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Something different. Quick and easy. Hubby and 8 yr old daughter like it too. They are both picky eaters. Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKITLES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Very good, next time will try it as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Love this recipe. I make the Sweet and Sour Sauce on this site. Excellent with rice, my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I was looking for something different to do with smoked sausage and found this- delicious. I added more sauce and served over rice as others suggested. My husband- who usually hates peppers and onions, asked for seconds! That means it is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States