Sweet and Sour Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I used chicken instead of sausage, and added some chunks of fresh pineapple and fresh tomato along with the other fresh ingrediants. I used about a half of the bottle of sauce to just coat the veg and meat without it being too over powering and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This one gets 5 starts because it tastes awesome, it's really easy to make and the ingredients are very simple. I followed the recipe exactly except added a little extra sauce as recommended by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I really liked that this was something different. I did add additional sweet and sour sauce as other reviewers suggested and also added more cayenne and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I threw a can of pineapple in it towards the end and scratched the hotsauce and cayenne pepper. Everyone loved it - from my 2 year old to my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I made this the other day, and it was really good. I added a can of water chestnuts and used Sriracha garlic sauce with the sweet and sour sauce. It's so easy and definitely a keeper in this house. I don't care for things with too much sauce but I'm glad I followed the advice of others and tripled the s/s sauce measurement--it was the perfect amount for me. Thanks to whoever submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very good and easy to prepare. My husband really enjoyed it and would like to have it again. Like many others I added pineapple and a bottle of sweet and sour sauce with a little of the pineapple juice. I served it with jasmine rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Really great & quick. I took the advice of other reviewers & tripled the sweet & sour sauce & added pineapple chunks to the mix. I also added garlic & served over white rice. Everyone loved it. Thank you for a nice, easy meal w/ a change of our usuals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
So good, I made my own s&s sauce per another reviewer. I will definitley be adding this to my quickie dinner arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great Recipe! Thanks! I did add extra sauce per the other reviews and instead of cutting peppers and onions I picked up a bag of pepper stirfry. It worked perfectly and no fussing with cutting :) This will be a new staple at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
We make a version of this recipe at home, but instead of sauteing it in a skillet, we wrap all of the ingredients in aluminum foil and make a secure pouch, then grill the pouch on the grill until done. This adds a delicious smoky grilled flavor to the sausage and peppers, plus the juices from the sausage, sweet and sour sauce, spices, and veggies makes a delicious sauce and the sausage and veggies are so tender and moist. It's delicious!! We also use an entire jar of La Choy sweet and sour sauce...to us this makes a BIG difference in the flavor. We also add 1 sliced fresh jalapeno pepper, but beware, this makes it very very spicy!!! Not for those with young children, but if you like it super hot, it is wonderful! One of our favorites! I gave this 4 stars only because we like the grilled version better and it needs more sweet and sour sauce. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States