Sweet and Sour Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My family loved this! Instead of purchased sweet and sour sauce, I cooked my own using a recipe from this website. I added additional bell pepper and onion and it still wasn't enough. In addition, I added a large can of pineapple tidbits. Served it over rice...delicious! (Don't be afraid to add other veggies-I wished I had had carrots.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
My husband and I really liked it but my 6 and 3 year old did not. O well...I tried. The pineapple made the dish great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Really enjoyed this and My Husband loved it. I did double the sweet and sour sauce. The whole key, as others had suggested is adding a can of diced pineapples with the juice. It adds a little bit of extra sweetness and provides more liquid for serving over rice. Quick, Easy and Tasty. Thank You for Sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Everyone liked this, would probably make again. It was an easy weeknight meal. I used a dash or 2 of cajun seasoning instead of cayenne and hot sauce. Also, had a few raw shrimp I cooked in pan with sauce after removing sausage/veg. No need for salt in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Super flavor and so fast. This is definitely a keeper! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grambo Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Mattawa, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good!! I also added additional sweet and sour sauce because I was serving over rice. Great way to change up smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Warrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was a great dinner choice. My family loved it. I added a can of pineapple chucks. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephcox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was very very good. I used the "Servings" feature to scale it down to 3 servings (I already had a 14 oz. smoked sausage that I didn't know what to do with, long story ...), and it worked like a charm. I did use a bit more sweet and sour sauce than it called for (maybe 25% more, not much), and it was very good. I only put a bit of pepper and hot sauce, then let people add hot sauce to suit their own tastes on the plate. It was great. A keeper recipe for sure. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Wonderful! I made the sweet & sour sauce another person recommended and doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
this was very good I added 1- can pineapple chunck / with juice service over rice. 5 stars +
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby Campen

Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States