Sweet and Sour Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is the recipe that my family calls "freezer slaw". We make it and put it in plastic freezer containers. Tastes just as good months later. Just take it out of the freezer, thaw and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undertakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
We love this recipe! I make it for my husband and dad who absolutely rave over it! I'm making it right now again for a family function! It's one of the best! By far better than the store bought kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
Better then creamey slaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoernerstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I substituted red pepper for the pimentos. Very delicious. Assemble several hours ahead of serving so the flavors can meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I was very worried about the "no oil" in this recipe. I was very tempted to put some in. I am sooooo glad I didn't.My 4 young children and my somewhat picky husband (though you wouldn't be able to tell by looking at him)loved this dressing. I used my own regular coleslaw ingredients, and just used the dressing though, sorry for those of you that don't like the reviews on a changed recipe. Can't wait to eat the rest for lunch, yummo! Resist the temptation to add the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anharelva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Made this for an Ocktoberfest Party. Everyone seemed to like it, it was all gone at any rate. I liked that it wasn't the creamy sort of coleslaw. I added twice the amount of cabbage and peppers and stuff and still there was a ton of dressing. (Large-ish pool in the bottom of the bowl.) FYI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This reminded me of a slaw called 7 day slaw. My whole family loved it. It was the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
REALLY liked this one. Although I'm normally a fan of creamy cole slaw, the flavor of this sauce is a nice change from the norm. It's just the right consistency, so it coats the slaw with a nice sweet and sour flavor, but isn't overpowering. Very quick prep with a 16 oz bag of packaged, shredded cole slaw. Definitely will be eating this regularly. I prefer to use angel hair slaw (the thinner the better). Chill slaw and dressing separately, and mix together just a little while before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
This was OK, but we prefer the creamy slaw. If you don't like the creamy slaw, try this recipe. I do think it could use a bit of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was a big hit at a recent dinner party where I cooked all German food. I didn't have any pimento, but I don't think that made any difference. The dressing was light and I liked that it didn't have any oil. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States