Sweet and Sour Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marcia
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I've made this recipe several times. It is excellent. I was looking for a non-fat, low sugar, snack type food and this is it. I cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and it is still good and tangy. The sauce is just the right amount for the cabbage too. I have also added lots of other vegetables in an attempt to get in as many wholesome foods as possible in one dish. I have added red cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, green peppers, onions, walnuts and dried cranberries. It is excellent. I think you could add what ever you wanted or make it plain and it would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This makes a terrific mayo free slaw with lots of flavour. The sweet and sour really came through in the taste I found and only gets better with time. The recipe is well written and easy to follow...I doubled it and happy I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe and even better with a few additions! I added a crisp apple chopped and pomegranate seeds. Made it a delightful and different fruit slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I loved it. I followed the directions but left out the pimento pepper. You maybe able to cut the sugar or use sweetner substitute. I mixed it up about 4 hrs. b/f serving so it could soak into the slaw. I did have a little extra dressing pooling at the bottom of the bowl...either add more slaw or drain. Again, loved it but my hubby only thought it was okay. However, when it comes to food, we have very different tastes. i like sweet and he is all about salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was a nice side with Hungarian brats and german potato salad. I cut this recipe in half but I think it would have still served 6. Great use of my mustard seed. I didn't have the green pepper so I used shredded carrots instead. I used red cabbage, which I recommend. Loved the celery in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Wonderful ... served this to company as a side with Chili Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Apricot Ginger Glaze from this site. Love the no mayo dressing ... you could actually taste the other ingredients. I omitted the celery and bell pepper (didn't have any on hand and didn't want to go back to the store). I added grated carrots instead. This will definitely be my go to slaw from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was great! My hubby who loves the creamy style still liked this. I don't like the creamy but loved this! Thanks for the recipe now I can make this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Yummy..especially when it's made with love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Light and healthy. I used half of the sugar and thought it needed more vinegar. Will make again when in the mood for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States