Sweet and Sour Sicilian Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Since we like our tuna rare, the only thing I would change is to sear the tuna 1 minute per side, and then simmer them for 2 minutes tops at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
DELICIOUS! I substituted brown sugar for the sugar and added a little salt and pepper! LOVED IT! Will make it again! Oh, and I was cooking for myself so I just made one serving... turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a delicious dish! Word to the wise--you cannot divide it! I tried and it was an utter failure. Even if you're making one tuna steak, you must follow the full liquid measurement. The first time I got sweet and sour candied onions and tuna. Had to chip it off my plate. LOL! The second... success! The most difficult thing about this recipe is mustering the patience to caramelize the onions. Don't rush! Take your time; do it right. It makes all the difference. That, and withstanding the pungent aroma of the red wine vinegar as you complete the recipe. I paired mine with steamed spinach. I was raised with spinach and vinegar (instead of butter, salt, etc.), so pouring a little sauce over my spinach was all I needed. With that, it is a bit of a pungent overload, so you might want to have a nice, mellow starch in addition. Simple rice pilaf might do the trick. I'm so NOT a cook, but I think I pulled this off with aplomb (the second time). Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Fantastic! I will make often for my fish dishes - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good! We added more onion per the other reviews. I think next time I'll try a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good. It is the perfect weeknight recipe. Quick,tasty and one frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very authentic and delicious. We enjoy this during the holidays and at least once every 4 weeks on a Friday, since we could not have meat on Fridays. Many Catholics still observe the no meat on Friday rule all year long and not just during Lent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Completely authentic recipe for Sicilian style tuna steak. My grandmother made it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisewoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
made this last night super easy and good may try it on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was reallllllllyyyy good! Even just the basic recipe it's good. I threw in a little bit of garlic and some marjoram into the mix and that made it extra flavorful. I would imagine that you add just about any herb and it would not spoil it. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States