Sweet and Sour Seitan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
We made this tonight and it was super yummy. Next time we make it, we'll probably use more vegetables, but its a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is a great and easy recipe that I made even better by adding a few extra ingredients. I added sugar snap peas, half a can of mini corn that you often find in Asian cooking, and a handful of tiny grape-tomatoes. My husband, who is a new vegetarian, licked his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I made this dish for my husband and his ultra picky vegetarian father.. it came out amazing! I sauteed the seitan until brown,added in all the vegies including baby corn, chunks of yellow and red peppers ... and the sauce was so delicious over whole wheat linguini... I would definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Maybe I just thought I liked sweet and sour dishes, because I didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Quite tasty. Both my bf and I loved it. Did not turn out the same color as the one in the photo though, ours was brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hooligan77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very delicious. Our store didn't have Seitan, so I used frozen Veggie Chicken Strips and it was delicious. I made it for dinner with my parents (not vegan) and the loved it. Even my super meat eater father went for seconds! Wouldn't change a thing with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
A great find. Will be making this again and again. I use fructose instead of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was really good, my boyfriend (who has been known to scoff at my attepmts to "vegetarianize" meals) ate two servings! The only complaint was that it was a little too sweet, so next time I may cut down on the brown sugar a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was the first time my husband and I have ever had seitan (wish I knew how to pronouce it). We really like the flavor of this sweet and sour souce. We added a lot more vegis than what the recipie indicated. Joel likes seitan - better than tofu, but not as well as chicken (of course). We will eat this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was the first time I had used seitan and only had an 8 oz package, so I added mushrooms, broccoli, baby carrots, and water chestnuts. I also served with a organic brown and wild rice mix, flavored with tamari sauce. My husband and 19 yr old son loved it (altho neither knew it was vegetarian instead of chicken!) I will definitely make regularly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States