Sweet and Sour Seitan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
We made this tonight and it was super yummy. Next time we make it, we'll probably use more vegetables, but its a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is a great and easy recipe that I made even better by adding a few extra ingredients. I added sugar snap peas, half a can of mini corn that you often find in Asian cooking, and a handful of tiny grape-tomatoes. My husband, who is a new vegetarian, licked his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I made this dish for my husband and his ultra picky vegetarian father.. it came out amazing! I sauteed the seitan until brown,added in all the vegies including baby corn, chunks of yellow and red peppers ... and the sauce was so delicious over whole wheat linguini... I would definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Maybe I just thought I liked sweet and sour dishes, because I didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Quite tasty. Both my bf and I loved it. Did not turn out the same color as the one in the photo though, ours was brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hooligan77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very delicious. Our store didn't have Seitan, so I used frozen Veggie Chicken Strips and it was delicious. I made it for dinner with my parents (not vegan) and the loved it. Even my super meat eater father went for seconds! Wouldn't change a thing with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
A great find. Will be making this again and again. I use fructose instead of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was really good, my boyfriend (who has been known to scoff at my attepmts to "vegetarianize" meals) ate two servings! The only complaint was that it was a little too sweet, so next time I may cut down on the brown sugar a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was the first time my husband and I have ever had seitan (wish I knew how to pronouce it). We really like the flavor of this sweet and sour souce. We added a lot more vegis than what the recipie indicated. Joel likes seitan - better than tofu, but not as well as chicken (of course). We will eat this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was the first time I had used seitan and only had an 8 oz package, so I added mushrooms, broccoli, baby carrots, and water chestnuts. I also served with a organic brown and wild rice mix, flavored with tamari sauce. My husband and 19 yr old son loved it (altho neither knew it was vegetarian instead of chicken!) I will definitely make regularly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States