Sweet and Sour Seitan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is a quick easy dish that is sure to meet the whole families approval. I use an electric wok, throw in any extra vegetables I have in the fridge, add the seitan then the cider vinegar, soy, pineapple juice, brown sugar and corn starch all at once. 5 minutes of stirring and it is ready to be devoured. We love it over sticky rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe tastes amazing! I am not sure why, my sweet-and-sour sauce was watery (I think I used too much pineapple juice). I had to add more corn starch and drain some of the liquid, even after I added the extra corn starch. I think it is really necessary to brown the seitan (or tofu, which is just as good to use with this recipe). If the seitan or tofu is a bit crispy, it will make all the difference for the better. Note to self: the whole can of pineapple chunks is not necessary for this recipe. Half the can would have sufficed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by car

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Cooked this tonight and it was really good! Super simple and fast to make and I had most of the ingredients already. Few tweaks I did: I only had a 10oz can of seitan tidbits (you can find at a Natural Foods store or asian market) so I added 6oz of baby bella mushrooms. Also, I had to add more brown sugar because it was too vinegary as stated in the recipe. I also added about a tsp more cornstarch to make thicker. I also added about 1/4 cup of ketchup to make it like they do in the takeout restaurants (why you usually see this recipe with a red sauce). Thank you for the recipe!!! Delicious with white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
We loved this dish. We didn't have canned pineapples so we used mixed tropical fruits in a can. It was amazing over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrie Anne Faison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very yummy! I am putting this on the rotation! I think the brown sugar and what kind of vegetables are included really make the dish. Thank you for a yummy seitan recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was good. The sauce tasted great. I used a canned seitan which I didn't really care for but that doesn't reflect on the quality of the recipe. I also added extra vegetables. Yummy. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My 4 year old gobbled this up! I swapped out the canned pineapple and juice for 2 cups fresh pineapple and used a cup of apple cider. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahandcammie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Wow! This was amazing. Made everything exactly as directed - except I used Morningstar chicken strips since I don't have a clue how to find seitan out here! We served it over rice - though next time I may try to add some more veggies. But this was definitely great, my non-vegetarian husband gave me the ok to make it again (which is rare!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was the first time I had used seitan and only had an 8 oz package, so I added mushrooms, broccoli, baby carrots, and water chestnuts. I also served with a organic brown and wild rice mix, flavored with tamari sauce. My husband and 19 yr old son loved it (altho neither knew it was vegetarian instead of chicken!) I will definitely make regularly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was the first time my husband and I have ever had seitan (wish I knew how to pronouce it). We really like the flavor of this sweet and sour souce. We added a lot more vegis than what the recipie indicated. Joel likes seitan - better than tofu, but not as well as chicken (of course). We will eat this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States