Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I tweaked this recipe a bit based on what was in my pantry (no paste-used sauce). I also added soy sauce (2T) and used the juice from a can of pineapples as part of the water. I also let this simmer for about 20 minutes before I added the cornstarch. My VERY picky 8 yr old (whom this was made for) thought it was better than the sweet and sour sauce from (insert fast food restaurant name here ):) so it was absolutely a success and will be made again. To reiterate another reviewer - cornstarch must be mixed with a little water/juice before adding to recipes. Also bring it to a full boil after adding to get it to thicken. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Awesome sauce! I did as other reviewers suggested and used the pineapple juice (into which I mixed 3 heaping tablespoons of corn starch) and soy sauce. I simmered it for 20 minutes. My family loved it! A keeper for sure!Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Terrific S&S sauce! I added some soy sauce for depth & saltiness and some chopped green onion and bell pepper and it turned out just as I like it(and my kids RAVED about it!). I was skeptical about using tomato paste because all other recipes I had seen used ketchup for the "red", but it was really very good. For those of you who worry about it being too tomatoey - it tastes just like really good Sweet & Sour from the Chinese restaurant. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a great recipe! I used 8 ounces of tomato sauce because I didn't have any tomato paste on hand. Also used 8 ounces of crushed pineapple instead of tidbits for the same reason. :) I added this sauce to a basic chicken stir fry recipe and served it over rice. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is so quick and easy! I use the pineapple juice from the tidbits and add water to make 2 cups. (sometimes I half the recipe as it makes quite a bit) I also use ketchup in place of the tomato paste, it adds an extra zing. While the sauce is cooking, I bake some breaded chicken pieces and sautee some bell peppers and onions. Mix it all together and serve over hot rice for a "20 minute meal".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This sauce is great. It was my first attempt at homemade swwet & sour sauce and I must say I was a bit apprehensive! I cut the recipe in half (there are just the two of us) and it still made plenty. I also used Splenda instead of sugar and you couldn't tell the difference. The only reason I didn't rate this a 5 star was because I had to strain the cornstarch lumps out of the sauce. I would definitely recommend mixing the cornstarch with water first before adding. Otherwise the flavor, color and consistency of the sauce was awesome. I also used it with the pork patties submitted by Linda on this site and my husband has now requested this combo be a regular in our house. We will never buy store-bought sweet & sour sauce again. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I have never had sweet and sour sauce better anywhere, in a jar or at a restuarant. I usually have trouble getting things to thicken for some reason, so I was worried about this the sauce thickening enough to use. I didn't have to worry at all. It tasted delicous and was the perfect consistency. I used tomato sauce because I didn't have tomato paste. I also stained out the pineapple because I didn't like the fact of eating the pineapple in the sauce. Great recipe Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I agree with STEVERAMSEY. The sauce was easy and good for your regular order-in Chinese food... and the colour was Fantastic!, but if I'm going to cook something from scratch, I want a little more Zing! It's a generous recipe, so I made only 1/2 with the following changes: 1 c chicken broth(not water), 1/3 c rice vinegar(not white), 3/4 c sugar(half white, half brown), 1 whole can peaches, 2 T cornstarch, a few turns of freshly-ground black pepper. The sauce bubbled happily away with the juice from the peaches and when it was thick, I gently tossed a chopped, sauteed onion; 1 lb of cooked, diced chicken; a chopped, sauteed, orange bell pepper, and the peaches in. Next time, I'll try a fresh, tart pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Debbie. Tastes better than the sauce at my favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Well, this recipe DID get a great review from a lot of people. However, I did not find it to my taste. I think the tomato paste was too much. Maybe adding 1/3 of the actual paste might help. Some tips with cornstarch, because I saw a few people had clumps of it. Cornstarch reacts with hot liquids and balls up. To fix this blend it with cold/cool water (or in some recipes) the vinegar first. This will prevent the balling. Also don't put all 3 tbsp in at once. I usually do one at a time, stir it until blended and then do the next one. This will prevent any balling up as well. I think with some modifications this could be a great recipe! The thickness was great and the pineapple chunks are just delicious. This would go great with deep fried pork or chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States