Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was a wonderful sauce!!! We used it for dipping baked egg rolls (from this site) in, then used the leftover sauce the next night to make a chicken stir fry. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbmckay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Excellent! Like others, used the drained pineapple juice as part of the water. All ingredients, except cornstarch, were brought to boil. I added some of the liquid to the cornstarch then put it back in the pot and continued to boil and stir until thickened. Poured a cupful on top of turkey meatloaf before baking....yummm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is realy a great sauce. I started it with 1/2 onion, 1/2 red bell pepper and 1/2 green bell pepper chopped and sauteed, then I added the pineapple juice mixed with water to make 2 cups and the other ingredients. I used 3/4 C reg white sugar and 3/4 C brown sugar, instead of all white, and I only had a little bit of tomatoe paste left from something else so I made up the difference with ketchup. My family loved it! I served it over some vegetarian meatballs at a potluck and the dish got slicked up! Maybe I'll post the vegetarian meatball recipe later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Super easy, makes a ton. Followed recipe plus used the drained pineapple juice with water. A little heavy on tomatoe taste, think I would use less and also use rice vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Unless I seriously tweak this recipe next time, I'm pretty sure my hunt for the perfect sweet & sour sauce is not over yet. It was alright, but all that tomato paste made it taste way too much like ketchup! I could see maybe adding a few tablespoons of the paste, even up to half a can, but the whole can made it WAY too tomatoey. Kind of weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I had never made sweet and sour sauce before, but I wanted to use it to go along with the recipe for Pork Spring Rolls on here (which, by the way, are AWESOME!). I used the pineapple chunks in the sauce, but it came out very sweet, so I offset it with a little (asian) garlic chile sauce (the one I used in the spring rolls, in case you'r e making them too), and some cayenne pepper to give it a kick. I also added two little packets (2 Tbsp) of soy sauce (like you get with take out), as another person suggested. It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was a good pairing for the "Best Eggrolls" on this site. I used the juice of the pineapple (not the tidbits) and cut the sweetness with a few shakes of soy sauce while it was simmering. Next time I will cut this recipe in half because it makes so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This was very yummy but I chose to cut the vinegar WAY back (vinegar is one of those things where a little bit goes a long way so I knew from the start I didn't want 2/3 cup in my sauce...lol). I only used about 1/4 cup (maybe not even that much) But other than that this is an excellent recipe for sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECOLEMAN24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This sauce is PERFECT!!!! I LIVE in China. I am living here and teaching English. My CHINESE friends ask me for the recipe because they say it is the best they have had!!! Try this FOR SURE!!!! :) Well Done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethStrate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I used tomato paste. Use juice from 8 oz. pineapple (crushed or diced) and measure it with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States