Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Super easy! This recipe will be used again and again in my house. It's low in calories as well as sodium. I strained out the pineapple as it was cooling the first time I made this. On my second try I used crushed pineapple instead that gave it a great texture. I also added a few tablespoons to crushed red pepper flakes to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjduck85

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was pretty good,.. we had to add some soy sauce to it afterwards, but that could be because we are used to saltier foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollycheeprock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
we tried this for egg roll dipin's. tasty. couple of things: we don't do a lot of sugar so we took someone's advice and used pineapple juice instead of water, and then added agave a bit at a time until it was the right sweet for us. it turned out to about 1/3-1/2 c. we also used rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I really liked this recipe. It needed a little something more tho to taste like my favorite chinese restaurant's sauce. So i used pineapple nectar, and a little more than was called for, and 2tsp minced fresh ginger. That made it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
this is a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maoneil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
i had to alter this... they call for way too much sugar... so although i made it with the amount they originally said.. i had to add more vinegar as it was only sweet sauce.. so next time.. i'll only put in a cup of sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
The flavor in this is just right. I've tried several sweet & sour sauce recipes & have been disappointed with them all until now, as they all had too much of a hot ketchup flavor. The flavor of this sauce is exactly what I was looking for, even without the pineapple. I can't wait to make it again with some pineapple juice in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Sister was making sweet and sour Chicken for Christmas and forgot her sweet and sour sauce. We pulled up this recipe last minute and made it. It came out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was EXCELLENT and my family LOVED it! I made the recipe twice, once exactly as written and one with 1 Cp pineapple juice, 1 Cp water. The way written is a tad more on the sour side while the other way is a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeadowB
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Grand Ronde, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was really good and quick. I used 1 cup of pineapple juice and 1 cup of water. I didn't have a 6 oz can of tomato paste, but 2 tbsp of paste in my freezer (I never use an entire can so freeze per tbsp), so used that and a dollop of ketchup. I had fresh pineapple so used that in lieu of canned. I had checked out a recipe for authentic sweet and sour sauce which called for rice vinegar so used that rather than distilled white vinegar... supposed to give a more authentic taste. It was GOOD. No refined foods in my house so used sugar in the raw.. a little less than 1 1/2 cups. I tossed the cornstarch in as the directions stated and used a wire wisk to stir and insure no lumps were present. It came out perfectly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States