Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Pretty good. I used this with some homemade Crab Rangoon and it was yummy. Next time I'd use slightly less tomato. NOTE the amount this recipe makes - I stupidly overlooked it and ended up with enough sweet and sour sauce for an army. If you're drizzling it over whole entrees it should be fine (though still excessive), but if you're just using it for a dipping sauce, consider cutting the recipe (unless you want to have a whole bottle to save).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe was excellent! I cut it in half and it still made plenty (more than enough for three servings). I used pineapple juice instead of water, and didn't include the pineapple tidbits. I also put the cornstarch in the pineapple juice first so that the sauce wouldn't be lumpy. I put the sauce on top of stir fried veggies and rice, and it was really authentic. Tastes just like the real thing! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Really liked this, however, the taste of tomato paste was to strong in the final product. Next time I will do the recipe as is excluding to whole can of tomato paste and try only half... Great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Way too sweet! Added a splash of soy sauce, and added the cornstarch at the end. Overall a good flavor, will try again with much less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Easy, delicious. Had to improvise with mixture of tomato paste and ketchup, crushed pineapple etc due to pantry conditions but happy I could do that without compromising outcome. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Fraser Page

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Wow! this is absolutely yummy! Since I had no tomato paste on hand I used Heinz ketchup. I love this sweet and tangy sauce. I use it for dipping with, "Baked Chicken Nuggets," from this website. Thank you myrite for sharing this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
just what the doctor orderded
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poor mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyburn, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I did not care for this. It was nothing more than sweet ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
It was quick and easy, but way way too vinegary for our tastes. I fixed it by adding about 1/2 cup sugar, then it tasted right, but we are not vinegar people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States