Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I have used this sauce for egg rolls as well as chicken tenders, etc. Easy to make. Good both warm and cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very heavy tomato flavor. I wish I had used more pineapple juice instead of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe was an amazing success! I did change it up a little bit - I used the juice from the pineapple with only a few of the tidbits, added a pinch of kosher salt, and a splash of rosie's cherry grenadine (I didn't have a jar of maraschino cherry juice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This stuff is great, perfect for dipping egg rolls. I didn't have pineapple in my pantry, but I did have mandarin oranges (also had a can of cranberry sauce - I'll try that next time because i bet any sweet/sour fruit will work great) so used those instead. I also suggest that the very first ingredient you start to work with is the corn starch and then start adding a little liquid to mix into the consistency of a thick mud. Then add your tomato paste (or as in my case catchup) and mix that good before you add the rest of the liquid. I also pureed my oranges (pineapple, cranberry, whatever) and added that too before adding the rest of the water and vinegar & sugar. No lumps, smooth as silk that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was great! I used 1 c. water and 1 c. pineapple juice, and ketchup in place of tomato paste. Just like restaurants serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Pretty good. I used this with some homemade Crab Rangoon and it was yummy. Next time I'd use slightly less tomato. NOTE the amount this recipe makes - I stupidly overlooked it and ended up with enough sweet and sour sauce for an army. If you're drizzling it over whole entrees it should be fine (though still excessive), but if you're just using it for a dipping sauce, consider cutting the recipe (unless you want to have a whole bottle to save).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe was excellent! I cut it in half and it still made plenty (more than enough for three servings). I used pineapple juice instead of water, and didn't include the pineapple tidbits. I also put the cornstarch in the pineapple juice first so that the sauce wouldn't be lumpy. I put the sauce on top of stir fried veggies and rice, and it was really authentic. Tastes just like the real thing! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Really liked this, however, the taste of tomato paste was to strong in the final product. Next time I will do the recipe as is excluding to whole can of tomato paste and try only half... Great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Way too sweet! Added a splash of soy sauce, and added the cornstarch at the end. Overall a good flavor, will try again with much less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States