Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and the color and consistancy turned out fine. However, there was a powerful tomato soup taste. I added some grape jelly to sweeten it up some. Don't think I'll make again. Thanx tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is the best I have ever tasted. I did add about a tsp of fresh ginger and a couple of shakes of soy sauce. I also did not drain the pinapple. I put the whole can in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I thought this recipe was awesome!!!! Only thing I did different was put it in a food processor to chop up the pineapple tidbits. They were just a little too chunky. Thank you for the recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I didn't change a thing! My husband raved about this. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Just made this, It is a keeper, excellent. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I have used this sauce for egg rolls as well as chicken tenders, etc. Easy to make. Good both warm and cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very heavy tomato flavor. I wish I had used more pineapple juice instead of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe was an amazing success! I did change it up a little bit - I used the juice from the pineapple with only a few of the tidbits, added a pinch of kosher salt, and a splash of rosie's cherry grenadine (I didn't have a jar of maraschino cherry juice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This stuff is great, perfect for dipping egg rolls. I didn't have pineapple in my pantry, but I did have mandarin oranges (also had a can of cranberry sauce - I'll try that next time because i bet any sweet/sour fruit will work great) so used those instead. I also suggest that the very first ingredient you start to work with is the corn starch and then start adding a little liquid to mix into the consistency of a thick mud. Then add your tomato paste (or as in my case catchup) and mix that good before you add the rest of the liquid. I also pureed my oranges (pineapple, cranberry, whatever) and added that too before adding the rest of the water and vinegar & sugar. No lumps, smooth as silk that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was great! I used 1 c. water and 1 c. pineapple juice, and ketchup in place of tomato paste. Just like restaurants serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States