Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I used pineapple juice for some of the water. Ended up being 1 cup juice, 1 cup water. The end result was too sweet for our tastes, so I added some soy sauce, zesty Mrs. Dash, salt, and more vinegar. Next time, I will cut the sugar and not use quite as much juice. I am also considering using an artificial sweetner, like Splenda or whatever one is recommended for baking. Hubby really liked it. We made some chicken (browned in a frypan with a little margarine) and had it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was awsome. I added green pepper, onion and carrots to the sauce while it was cooking, I also was going to add a can of pineapple chunks at the end so I poured the juice into the sauce at this time.then I added the cornstarch and pineapple chunks after the veggies were cooked al dente. I followed a few reviews by using 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. I used 1/2 cider vinegar and 1/2 white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
From now on I am throwing out the one that comes with my food...and making my own.....Thank you for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I quadrupled this recipe for my daughers wedding reception. I had pre-made frozen Italian meatballs and simmered them in this sauce. They were the hit of the night and everyone wanted the recipe. I will make this sauce again and use it on chicken. I also put in some green peppers and used more pineapple juice and cornstarch to make it thicker. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Still searching for our very favorite restaurant's version of sweet and sour, but this is the best homemade one we've tried so far. I used pineapple juice for liquid, and omitted the crushed pineapple. Everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this last night for some egg rolls I had and this was great. I took some ideas from others: cut back a bit on the sugar, used 1/2 brown sugar instead of all white, used the juice from the pineapple and added a bit of soy sauce to it. It really tasted good, wasn't too sweet/sour. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahicswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Awesome recipe. It was my first attempt at sweet and sour sauce and it turned out great. I didn't use the pineapple and used tomato sauce instead of paste. I also replaced the white wine vinegar with apple cider vinegar. I did face minimal clumpage with the cornstarch which I really could have avoided by mixing it with water first, my mistake. But it still looked and tasted amazing. This will definately be a recipe i use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Great taste! Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I used pickle juice because I didnt have any vinegar on hand and used 4 tablespoons of flour (wisked in 1/2 the warm water) because I didnt have corn starch. Also pureed regular pineapples (not from a can). Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYS627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Really delicious although I did make a few changes. I used the juice from the canned pineapple and water instead of just water. The thought of tomato paste didn't appeal to me so I used about 4 Tbsp of ketchup. I also used brown and white sugar (and only 3/4 of a cup) and added some fresh ginger. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States