Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This is incredible! I've been looking for a Sweet and Sour recipe for ages and I've found it. I did substitute ketchup for the tomato paste and added additional pineapple juice to taste. This recipie makes a HUGE amount so if you just want it for a setting for one meal of a family of 4 or 5 cut it in half if you are using it for a dipping sauce. Thank you myrite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
We made it as the recipe stated this time but next time will use pineapple juice in place of the water to make it a little more tangy and will substitute apple cider vinegar for the white vinegar. Hopefully then it will be a 5. It was just a tad "tomatoey" as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I love this sauce! It tastes just like the chinese restaurant. The only difference is that I normally don't add the pineapple tidbits. It's really good either way though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Quick,easy, and tasty. Besides just adding pineapple I also added a can of green chiles to make it more of a sweet, sour, spicy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Well it doesn't get much easier than this! I used crushed pineapple and ketchup as substitutions, and added a dash of soy sauce. Great results. Too sweet for me, so will adjust next time. Also - the recipe is huge! Will likely cut recipe in half next time. Will try freezing in the meantime and see how well it holds up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Great recipe. Better than most sweet and sour sauce because I could adjust the sweet (those are always too sweet for my family's taste). I use ketchup as other people had recommended and cut the sugar in half (used all brown sugar). I only made a half recipe which makes a bunch. I'm gonna see if it freezes ok since we didn't use it all. I used it with the Best Egg Rolls recipe from here...great take out meal without the cost. Our kids gave the whole meal a "Definitely make this again, Mom" vote. That's 5 stars for sure. Also the leftovers are going in their lunch boxes tomorrow!!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was about as good as it gets!!!! The whole family loved this sauce. We made it for egg roles. I split the sauce dish. The one I left alone. To the other, I added some ground up habanero pepper. That added some bite! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was amazing! I will never buy sweet and sour sauce at the grocery again. I did have to alter it a bit to fit what I had in the pantry..I used 8 oz tomato sauce instead of paste,1 small can crushed pineapple (including juice), reduced the water to 1 cup with the 3 tbs cornstarch dissolved in it, added 3 tbs soy sauce...simmered it all on the stove for 20 minutes...it was perfect! Great basic recipe for sweet and sour sauce...I am definitely using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I used pineapple juice for some of the water. Ended up being 1 cup juice, 1 cup water. The end result was too sweet for our tastes, so I added some soy sauce, zesty Mrs. Dash, salt, and more vinegar. Next time, I will cut the sugar and not use quite as much juice. I am also considering using an artificial sweetner, like Splenda or whatever one is recommended for baking. Hubby really liked it. We made some chicken (browned in a frypan with a little margarine) and had it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was awsome. I added green pepper, onion and carrots to the sauce while it was cooking, I also was going to add a can of pineapple chunks at the end so I poured the juice into the sauce at this time.then I added the cornstarch and pineapple chunks after the veggies were cooked al dente. I followed a few reviews by using 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. I used 1/2 cider vinegar and 1/2 white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States