Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made this today. It was good. I only had pineapple juice which was fine but came out too sweet. Next time I would add it in a little at a time until I got it to my liking. I tempered it with some soy sauce. And I didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Made a double batch with homemade meatballs and rice. Reduced the sugar to 2.5 cups (instead of 3 for a double batch) INCREDIBLE!!! Best sweet and sour sauce I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I wanted a simple recipe without too many ingredients, this is perfect! It is a great sauce and a keeper, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbiecookie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have an allergy to a widely used preservative that is found in most food colorings that Chinese restaurants feel they need to add to their S&S sauces. I made this recipe in hopes that it would fulfill my craving for my favorite Chinese dish and it tastes better than any restaurants I've had in the past. I did use some of the pineapple juice in place of water like other reviewers suggested. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Freytag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Awful awful awful.......This is not like any Sweet and Sour sauce I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rarry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
easy,fast, and good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This recipe is wonderful and easy. I added about 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes for a little kick. It does make a large amount, but it freezes well and is like "fresh made" when thawed and warmed. Actually, I plan to make the recipe today and freeze it in portion sizes. (I will divide it into 4 small freezer containers, then it will be ready when I need it - just thaw, warm in microwave, and serve). Like others suggested, I will use the juice from the pineapple, use less sugar, use crushed pineapple instead of tidbits, and add a little soy sauce, but the recipe as written is wonderful. I used it on pork meatballs baked in the oven. WOW....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Substitute light brown sugar for the white and add a splash of soy to taste. I also waited until the sauce thickened to add the pineapple bits. It makes it easier to stir while thickening, I also cut back on the tomato paste, in fact I substituted ketchup. Came out great and its easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Sorry I followed the recipe exactly and we just didn't care for it. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Was looking for a cheap sauce to put on top of Hawaiian meatballs that I made for a potluck dinner. This was what we tried. LOVED it, but added a little extra vinegar for zing. After reading some reviews, I will add some soy sauce to it, too. Great starter recipe, and I can't WAIT to eat our meatballs! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanawha, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashua, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States