Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The best i have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made these changes and it turned out well. I don't care for sweet so I decreased the sugar to 1 c. I omitted the pineapple tidbits and instead used 1 c. pineapple juice and reduced the water amount to 1 c. I used the chunk pineapple to add to the recipe "Sweet and Sour Pork Patties" with the addition of other ingredients like cut up green and red pepper, onion, bamboo shoots, and sliced water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made this today. It was good. I only had pineapple juice which was fine but came out too sweet. Next time I would add it in a little at a time until I got it to my liking. I tempered it with some soy sauce. And I didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Made a double batch with homemade meatballs and rice. Reduced the sugar to 2.5 cups (instead of 3 for a double batch) INCREDIBLE!!! Best sweet and sour sauce I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I wanted a simple recipe without too many ingredients, this is perfect! It is a great sauce and a keeper, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Ferrer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have an allergy to a widely used preservative that is found in most food colorings that Chinese restaurants feel they need to add to their S&S sauces. I made this recipe in hopes that it would fulfill my craving for my favorite Chinese dish and it tastes better than any restaurants I've had in the past. I did use some of the pineapple juice in place of water like other reviewers suggested. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Freytag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Awful awful awful.......This is not like any Sweet and Sour sauce I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rarry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
easy,fast, and good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This recipe is wonderful and easy. I added about 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes for a little kick. It does make a large amount, but it freezes well and is like "fresh made" when thawed and warmed. Actually, I plan to make the recipe today and freeze it in portion sizes. (I will divide it into 4 small freezer containers, then it will be ready when I need it - just thaw, warm in microwave, and serve). Like others suggested, I will use the juice from the pineapple, use less sugar, use crushed pineapple instead of tidbits, and add a little soy sauce, but the recipe as written is wonderful. I used it on pork meatballs baked in the oven. WOW....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Substitute light brown sugar for the white and add a splash of soy to taste. I also waited until the sauce thickened to add the pineapple bits. It makes it easier to stir while thickening, I also cut back on the tomato paste, in fact I substituted ketchup. Came out great and its easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States