Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I was skeptical about the tomato paste but tried the recipe as written and think it's a Keeper. I had read all 233 comments before trying it and was amazed at how many complained of lumpy corn starch. If the corn starch is added before turning on the heat as the recipe calls for it whips up nicely and no lumps. Thanks a bunch and I'll use it again, probably many times. Yes my friends liked it too and I don't think I'd change a thing. Nonna G
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Matyjasik Stearns
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
It was really good. Definitely better than take out sweet and sour sauce. Easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This is a good recipe. So much cheaper than buying the jars in the store. I tried to cut back on the sugar, but ended up adding more. Will just follow the recipe next time - except using the juice from the pinapple as several recommended as part of the water. And used crushed pinapple instead of tidbits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The best i have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made these changes and it turned out well. I don't care for sweet so I decreased the sugar to 1 c. I omitted the pineapple tidbits and instead used 1 c. pineapple juice and reduced the water amount to 1 c. I used the chunk pineapple to add to the recipe "Sweet and Sour Pork Patties" with the addition of other ingredients like cut up green and red pepper, onion, bamboo shoots, and sliced water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made this today. It was good. I only had pineapple juice which was fine but came out too sweet. Next time I would add it in a little at a time until I got it to my liking. I tempered it with some soy sauce. And I didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Made a double batch with homemade meatballs and rice. Reduced the sugar to 2.5 cups (instead of 3 for a double batch) INCREDIBLE!!! Best sweet and sour sauce I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I wanted a simple recipe without too many ingredients, this is perfect! It is a great sauce and a keeper, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Ferrer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have an allergy to a widely used preservative that is found in most food colorings that Chinese restaurants feel they need to add to their S&S sauces. I made this recipe in hopes that it would fulfill my craving for my favorite Chinese dish and it tastes better than any restaurants I've had in the past. I did use some of the pineapple juice in place of water like other reviewers suggested. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Freytag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States