Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I used these measurements and adjustments to make a small batch... 1 TBS brown sugar, 2 TBS white sugar, 1 TBS ketchup, 1 TBS soy sauce, about 2 TBS crushed pineapple(thawed frozen pineapple-about 1/4 cup- that I puréed-leaving some chunks- in the food processor) about 2 tsp white vinegar, and I left the cornstarch and water out, because I didn't want the sauce to be a thick consistency from the cornstarch, and didn't want the water to make the sauce bland. Really really good! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xjsbellamias13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
It really did taste like sweet and sour. liked it but wasn't quite the perfect match for me. Will make again if I need some. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Super good and super easy. Taste like the variety you buy in the jar at the grocery store, only cheaper and tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The ketchup and vinegar was just gross. The feedback was NEVER AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Quick, Easy, and Good! 5 stars all the way. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Better than any restaurant! I put it on Shrimp Tempura and also on Meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DemonGoddess
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
A bit too sweet and I already used less sugar than the recipe called for. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar 1/3 cup white sugar. 1/2 cup pineapple juice 1/4 cup of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've never made a sauce before so I probably did something wrong. It was disgusting! I don't know what happened, but mine turned more sour than sweet, even with extra honey. I think I'll stick to store bought sauce rather than trying to make my own ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This is a wonderful and versatile recipe that I made as written. I really like that it doesn't have that alarming colour that sweet and sour sauce has in restaurants. I used it with some veggie "meatballs" over brown rice with steamed green beans on the side. It was delicious, and a little goes a long way because it is so flavourful. I am going to freeze some so that I can have it on hand for a quick flavour hit to tofu, noodles, veggie stir fry, spring rolls ... The possibilities are endless. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States