Sweet and Sour Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
This recipe was so simple to make & delicious. I purchased pre-cut & washed romaine lettuce & pre-chopped walnuts to make it even speedier. Since I was taking this to a friend's house I kept the vegetables, dressing, & roasted walnuts/noodles separate from each other & assembled it all right before dinner. By the end of dinner the entire salad was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This salad is quite addictive! I substituted almonds for the walnuts, and added balsamic vinegar to the dressing. I also put some chopped carrots and some bean sprouts, since I had them around. Cutting the oil in half made this a *little* lower in fat.I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This recipe is a winner. It is very easy to make and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
This is a great recipe. I added carrots and black olives and made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
I love this recipe! It was a big hit at a recent party. Everyone wanted the recipe. The ramen noodle-walnut mixture really makes the salad special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I made this at our christmas dinner. I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out. Everyone raved about how good it was. I am glad I tried it. Thanks to whomever shared this recipe!! LSQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSQuser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This is an all-time great salad. I have substituted pecans for the walnuts and it is just as good. I take copies of the recipe every time I make it for a putluck, because I'm always asked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This salad is my new favorite! Excellent! Made it for 4th of July picnic and it was devoured!! Yummy! I also added some cooked chicken once for a light lunch salad. My family loved it! I honestly can't tell you HOW GOOD this salad is, or how many times I have been asked for the recipe....I SWEAR I would eat it every day. YUMMMMMMMMM. It is my staple for church potlucks, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Very easy and delicious! It makes ALOT of dressing so I didn't use all of it. Just an FYI - leftovers are not as good as the next day because the crispy noodles get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This salad was outrgaeous!!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY as indicated, however, I did blanch the broccoli for a few minutes. This gave it a bright green color and nicer texture. For those people who are concerned about fat grams, follow these simple steps: substitute some water for the oil in the dressing, use 1 TBS of butter for sauteeing, and used baked ramen noodles instead.Another option would be simply sprinkle them on top without frying them at all. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States