Sweet and Sour Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This salad was absolutely delicious! But I had to make some changes to make it lower in fat and sugar: I used Splenda instead of sugar, omitted the ramen noodles and butter. I toasted the walnuts in the microwave by itself for a couple of minutes, then added a little cooking spray and sprinkled some Splenda on it, and let it cool it down before adding to the salad. The green onions really gives a nice flavor to this salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I recently catered a dinner and made this salad. I was nervous as most people like to dress their own salad but I got more raves about this one than any other thing I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Escellent salad ... I added some crispy cappicolo ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramaPam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Salads really aren't supposed to be soupy with dressing. Just enough so each leaf or veggie gets a little taste of the dressing. Cut way back on the dressing. It will be lots better and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was a huge hit with my family. I sweetened the walnuts by adding sugar and butter to a skillet and browning the nuts with this mixture. Used whole walnuts once and will never do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
We liked the taste of the dressing and may add a little grated cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I just finished eating this delicious salad. I did sub fresh orange slices and dried cranberries for the broccoli and onion. I also mixed the dressing and the un-fried crushed ramen noodles for a few minutes before tossing with the lettuce. The salad dressing is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This salad is great! A Friend brought it to dinner and everyone asked for the recipe and then I served it again and everyone wanted the recipe. The flavors balance just perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Easy and different. I took it to a Potluck and have had to send the recipe to a dozen people. I love the brocolli in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicnNolsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Fantastic Salad even without the ramen noodles and walnuts. Now, we are just using the dressing for all our garden salads. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States