Sweet and Sour Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
My oh my oh my!! This Salad is absolutely incredibly fantastic. I searched this website high and low for THEE PERFECT salad for Easter dinner and I chose this one and Oh my gosh did it nail perfection. The dressing is to die for. The broccoli is the perfect added texture. The toasted nuts and ramen noodles are a critical ingredient. The add a dimension to the salad that is WONDERFUL. Don't skip that step. I also highly recommend adding mandarin oranges. My only struggle was with the actual toasting part. I started out with the frying pan method but the ramen noodles weren't quite "toasted" enough before the butter started to char a little. So I drained them on paper towels and the toasted them a little more in a 350 degree oven for about 10min and they were evenly browned, toasted and DELICIOUS. Every guest - no joke - raved with every bite. They gobbled up 2nds and 3rds until it was all gone. EVERYONE asked for the recipe. Men and women both loved it. THANK YOU for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Wonderful, versatile salad. You can mix and match various greens, I used Romaine and Arugula. Add any fruit such as peaches, mandarin oranges, or even fresh oranges like I did. I prefer pecans and almonds to walnuts so I subbed that as well. Yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I used light soy sauce (to reduce sodium), but added 1 additional teaspoon for more asian flavor. Sauted broccoli with the green onions in 1tb olive oil (no butter). Removed and cooled in fridge. Heated the crushed ramen in same pan (no additional oil/butter needed). I left out the nuts; ramen was crunch enough that you dont miss them. Very good. Way too much dressing!! I added a little bit at a time until the lettuce was lightly coated and stored the rest of the dressing for a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Our Christmas crowd of 21 really enjoyed this salad. I tripled lettuces and had some left, but only doubled the dressing and had some left over. Wondering if I could use sugar substitute (like Splenda) in the dressing and might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I loved this salad, though I did make some changes. I used only 1/4 cup oil and the rest water. I used 1/3 cup splenda instead of sugar and I added ginger and garlic powder to add some flavor. I left out the butter altogether. I substituted almonds for walnuts. I used cooked broccoli. It was so flavorful and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
One of my favs! This is always a hit at picnics and gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Awesome salad...just couldn't get enough of it...I think this is all my Mother ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Most excellent. The recipe makes too much dressing, so use sparingly. But it's quite yummy. The kids loved the idea of the ramen crunchies. Make sure you don't forget the green onions....it was the perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Lovely salad. Great dressing. Had to omit the nuts due to an allergy and added thin slices of red bell pepper instead. I also blanched the broccoli before hand. The next day it made a great lunch with thinly sliced barbecued chicken breast added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Just ok, didn't use near as much sugar it indicated as it seemed like tons, was not too fond of the walnuts in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkane47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States