Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michelle Katt
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Good, I leave out the caraway seeds, no one in my family will touch them. I also used bacon grease instead of butter and left the bacon pieces in. I also don't boil the cabbage, I just let it cook in the vinegar/sugar mixture until crisp tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Katt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I took this to a Legion pot luck dinner. A German couple who attended gave this a 5 star rating. I thought it had just the right blend of all of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saxonburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This was very tasty. Will definitly make again. I've been searching for a good sweet red cabbage recipe and have found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I cooked it in slow cooker until desired doneness of cabbage. I also used spiced apple cider and some water. Adjust sugar and vinegar to taste. I served it with a pot roast and my family thought it was the best ever and wanted the recipe. Anniebgood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Very good, just the right amount of tanginess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Quick, easy and tasty. Goes great with a roast and mashed potatoes. I used green cabbage instead of red and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Yummy side! The butter got chunky after a day in the fridge, but otherwise this recipe is A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Not quite zesty enough for my taste but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Great recipe! I used apple cider vinegar and a little less brown sugar(personal preference). I threw everything in the slow cooker and cooked on low 3 hours. I really enjoyed the caraway in this. I served this as a side for Herb Dumpling Pork Chops also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Very good and easy; I threw all the ingredients in a crockpot and cooked for 4 hours with a couple of changes: I used Apple Cider Vinegar and left out the caraway seeds. Next time I would replace the water with at least 1/2 apple juice and increase the vinegar as I like my red cabbage tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States