Sweet and Sour Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Entire family loved it including picky eater kids. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a great quick and easy dinner. Served over some rice with eggrolls on the side. Used a different brand sauce and fresh pineapple. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I followed GRAMMA GORGEOUS's direction. Marinated pork in soy sauce, drained and then rolled in cornstarch. Fried pork, removed, fried veggies, then simmered both together in sauce and added pineapple near the end. I used carrot, celery, onion, green and red pepper, sugar snap peas and water chestnut. Her recipe for sweet & sour was a little tart. Next time I'll reduce the vinegar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Hungry Hippo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
someone submitted the wrong photo, but actually I make this all the time and it's a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I had to make my own sweet and sour sauce. The first review was very helpful with that. I didn't cook my pork as long as the instructions indicated, I browned the meat for ten minutes in oil and no extra water, removed and cooked the veggies until just starting to get tender, added the meat back in and cooked just a few minutes together. I then added in my sauce and pineapple chunks, covered and simmered ten minutes. The pork was so tender and the veggies had just the right amount of crisp to them. I think it needs a bit of hot spice next time, some pepper flakes or cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Loved it. Added Cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This recipe turned out great! I didn't follow it exactly, but only little changes. I used red and green peppers, purple? onion, and carrots. I cut the carrots kinda chunky. I also used more water, then used the leftover pineapple juice from the crushed pineapple and let it simmer for 10-15 minutes. I added the chunky carrots during this time. It turned out great, everyone had empty plates! I will definitely be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
First, I used AR's Sweet and Sour Sauce I recipe instead of Kimmoman's (but I did use Kikkoman Soy Sauce to make it). The carrots were not cooked after the 10 minutes they simmered with the pork, so I had to add about another 10 minutes so they weren't crunchy. I thought they were sliced thinly enough, but maybe not. And then the green peppers lost all of their color and ended up overcooked (onions were fine). In the future, I will sauté the peppers, set them aside, and then add at the end along with the pineapple just to warm up. The presentation would be much nicer, as well, because the green peppers would remain bright green. But all in all, the pork was very tender, and we liked this. And it was easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Had to change to sweet and sour sauce II from this site as I really do not like Kikkoman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
i really enjoyed the meal there is nothing u could change to make this recipe better if u are having visitors this would be a great meal to serve!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States