Sweet and Sour Pork III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
9/17/2014-I made this recipe for our dinner tonight and it turned out perfect. I started the prep this morning. I used 3 thin pork chops (because that was what I had on hand), trimmed them of fat and bone and cut them into bite size pieces; then I marinated them in the refrigerator for rest of the day. After that I prepped the veggies, cooked them and set them aside for rest of the day. Then I made the sauce; I went ahead and added the pineapple and juice, but left out the veggies, thickened the sauce and set it aside. All of that prep took me about 45 minutes, but the meat was ready to cook, the sauce was made and the veggies were ready to add to the sauce. At dinner time, it took me about 20 minutes to heat the (peanut) oil and fry the pork. While the pork was cooking I added the veggies to the sauce and prepared some white rice. Everything came together at the same time, quickly and easily. I did not add the fried pork to the sauce because we prefer it crispy. The only change I made to the recipe was to cut the amount of sugar in the sauce from 3/4 cup down to 1/2 cup, and it was plenty. I served the sauce over the fried pork and rice and it was fantastic. This dish was the best Sweet and Sour Pork I've ever made. The recipe is excellent and not difficult. I will definitely make this again. The sauce was absolutely wonderful and tasted of restaurant quality, the pork was crispy and the veggies not overdone. This recipe is a keeper and I encourage everyone to give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aimee Zuniga
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Okay, this is seriously delicious. After finally deciding what I was going to make for dinner I thought this sounded great! Everybody who has tried it has applauded and said it was the bomb! The only thing that I am going to tweak for the next time is cut way down on the sugar! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Zuniga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was delicious! I made it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahandJason Schleiger
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
My family is a picky bunch but this was a hit! Our family ranges from 9-18 yrs and everyone loved it. It also was so fun to make with my hubby!!! We did it together and the end result was fantastic! We will totally make this again but next time I'll make sure there's some wine in the house for us to enjoy while cooking??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Made this exactly. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Sooo good, fairly easy to make. Made it twice and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I had been craving sweet and sour pork for weeks but did not want to buy it from a restaurant (did not want to go against the Hubby's wishes of having homemade cooking)...so when I found this recipe I was very eager to try it. The only thing I did different was put in the excess pineapple juice right after boiling but did not add the pineapples. I omitted the celery (just because it was the one thing I didn't have on hand). After frying and draining the pork, I added the sauce to my used skillet, added the cornstarch/water and thickened it in the pan, then added the pork, veggies, and lastly the pineapple chunks. I cook for my blended family of 6 all the time, and every single person loved this meal. We served it over rice and had some chinese style cooked cabbage on the side, it was delicious. The next day it was great too! I will be making this again, and bragging to my family and friends about the awesome new recipe I found. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monique Walters
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this as directed except I combined the sauce with the other ingredients at the very end. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a very good sweet and sour pork!!!! I didn't have celery but I had everything else. Very amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Loved it!! Better than restaurant!! I was skeptical at first because it seemed kind of complicated and I don't have a deep fryer and haven't had the greatest success with frying in a pan, but did it anyway, and it was amazing!!!! Easier than I thought and can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States