Sweet and Sour Pork III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe is awesome! It is better than my local takeout. I did make some adjustments for personal preference. I added a teaspoon of sesame oil to the sauce mixture. I fried the pork cubes in batches in my wok in about an inch of oil. They came out perfectly. I peeled a few carrots, and cut them on the bias, and stir fried them with the other veggies. I did not cook the sauce and a separate pan. After I cooked the veg, I poured the sauce mixture into the wok, brought it to a boil for a couple of minutes, then stirred in the pork. Then I added the cornstarch slurry to thicken it up. I definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Good with chicks too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
loved it, easy to make, next time i'll try it with pork chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I tried the sauce portion of this recipe tonight with shrimp and veggies. My husband loved it! I will definitely keep this one. Only bad thing is now I may never be able to get Chinese take out again, when I can make something better at home. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Deliciosa la prepare y hum, muy deliciosa, mil gracias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ??????? ?????

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, because when I get creative in the kitchen...it doesn't usually end well. This was fantastic! No more take out for sweet and sour pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
9/17/2014-I made this recipe for our dinner tonight and it turned out perfect. I started the prep this morning. I used 3 thin pork chops (because that was what I had on hand), trimmed them of fat and bone and cut them into bite size pieces; then I marinated them in the refrigerator for rest of the day. After that I prepped the veggies, cooked them and set them aside for rest of the day. Then I made the sauce; I went ahead and added the pineapple and juice, but left out the veggies, thickened the sauce and set it aside. All of that prep took me about 45 minutes, but the meat was ready to cook, the sauce was made and the veggies were ready to add to the sauce. At dinner time, it took me about 20 minutes to heat the (peanut) oil and fry the pork. While the pork was cooking I added the veggies to the sauce and prepared some white rice. Everything came together at the same time, quickly and easily. I did not add the fried pork to the sauce because we prefer it crispy. The only change I made to the recipe was to cut the amount of sugar in the sauce from 3/4 cup down to 1/2 cup, and it was plenty. I served the sauce over the fried pork and rice and it was fantastic. This dish was the best Sweet and Sour Pork I've ever made. The recipe is excellent and not difficult. I will definitely make this again. The sauce was absolutely wonderful and tasted of restaurant quality, the pork was crispy and the veggies not overdone. This recipe is a keeper and I encourage everyone to give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aimee Zuniga
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Okay, this is seriously delicious. After finally deciding what I was going to make for dinner I thought this sounded great! Everybody who has tried it has applauded and said it was the bomb! The only thing that I am going to tweak for the next time is cut way down on the sugar! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Zuniga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was delicious! I made it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahandJason Schleiger
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
My family is a picky bunch but this was a hit! Our family ranges from 9-18 yrs and everyone loved it. It also was so fun to make with my hubby!!! We did it together and the end result was fantastic! We will totally make this again but next time I'll make sure there's some wine in the house for us to enjoy while cooking??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States