Sweet and Sour Pork II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
I made a few modifications to this recipe based on some of the other reviews. The results were delicious and I will definitely make this dish again. First off - I noticed that the recipe was not clear about whether to add the broth that the pork is cooked in to the sweet and sour sauce or not. So I only added 1/2 cup of the broth and balanced it out with a bit more cornstarch (1 tsp) - this gave a nice thick consistency. I also only used one can of pineapple tidbits and used pineapple juice instead of another can (1 cup juice plus the juice from the can of pineapple). There's only so much pineapple a person can take... It turned out well and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
This recipe was very good. The only thing I changed was the amount of vinegar used. My hubby likes his sweet and sour alittle on the sweet side so I used less. I also drain the pork some before I add the sweet and sour because I seem to have too much water in it. This has become a real favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Made this for dinner tonigght and have just a few problems with it. First off, the sauce is very runny, not as thick as the description would lead you to believe. I even cut the pineapple juice to 2 1/4 cans instead of 3. I used flour as a thickener instead of cornstarch because I didn't have any on hand, and I used 2 tablespoons instead of 1. Also increased brown sugar to 1 cup. Secondly, 3 cans of pineapple was way too much. I used just 2 cans and that was plenty for us. Finally, I'm not crazy about soy sauce but I was afraid if I left it out it would take something away from the flavor of the sauce. Just 3 tablespoons was enough for the soy sauce to be too overpowering for my taste. I would recommend leaving it out if you don't like it. I also decreased the vinegar to 1/2 cup because we tend to like sweet and sour sauce more on the sweet side. Overall, the sauce was good, and the pork was very tender and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I have just started learning to cook and I like trying new dishes. My boyfriend is always honest with me when I try new recipes. We BOTH loved this. The best part was how simple it was. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was okay, but it wasn't the dish I was expecting. It was more like the sweet and sour stir-fry you can buy in the freezer section (but much better, of course, and more work) than the sweet and sour pork Chinese take-out I thought I was trying to make. My mistake, not the recipe owner's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This is so easy to make!! My husband and I loved this dish! Instead of shortening, I used expeller pressed canola oil and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I tried this a few months ago and forgot to rate it. This was really good, but I used boneless chicken breast in place of the pork. I also added some marachino cherries along with some of the juice from the cherries. Thanks Mary Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Used left over pork and left out additional salt as I frequently find soy sauce overly salty. Quite tasty when first prepared...but really gets its zip the next day. The difference is worth preparing for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Very good. As close to resturant as I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
liked it a lot! added crushed chili pepper flakes to give it some zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States