Sweet and Sour Pork I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Delicious recipe and easily adjustable to what you have on hand. I think you are supposed to beat the egg into the salt, soda, water mixture-then put the pork to it and then drop it in the cornstarch or flour. Don't worry if you don't have tapioca FLOUR, use cornstarch or all-purpose flour (do NOT use regular TAPIOCA it is for making pudding or thickening pies)! I used pork sirloin chops cubed-then fried them til well browned over medium,not high, adjusting the heat accordingly to avoid burning, this takes about 20-30 minutes depending on your heat etc. To make sure they are done cut open one of the larger pieces and check it. I used only pinapple chunks, thinly sliced carrot, and green bell pepper& yellow onion cut in a one inch dice.For extra zip I added some pepper. I did not add tomato, red chili pepper or plum sauce, because I didn't have it on hand and the recipe turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
My husband loved this dish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHONDA JAHN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
Do make this recipe. It's absolutely great using chicken or pork and any almost any vegetable medley. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devonmaui

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I made this several days ago and the family is already asking for a repeat! I dredged the meat in corn starch rather than tapioca, and I omitted the tomatoes. Thank you for sharing this one Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This was really great, and I am one who makes a lot of Asian food. Don't worry if you don't have tapioca starch, regular cornstarch (or sweet rice flour) works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was a great recipe and tasted a little different which is good. I was scared about the tomato but it was great. I think corn starch tastes a lot better for the batter than flour. The sauce was tasty too. It was actually better than some restaurants that I've been to. I gave up on the bag and just treded the pork. I made a huge mess in the kitchen but everyone like it. (I double battered the pork and cooked in the deepfryer and doubled the sauce due to my preference). I used pineapple juice instead of plum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe and as I'm Singaporean, I can tell you that it's certainly authentic! I think one step was missed out, as pointed out by another reviewer - after the water, salt and baking soda mix, dip the pork pieces in beaten egg before drenching in tapioca flour (which, incidentally, is easy to find and fairly cheap in Singapore). The oil will turn cloudy and blacken while deep-frying and I had to change the oil in the wok several times. Oh, and I also recommend halving the amount of plum sauce and vinegar,as well as adding more sugar, as I personally found the sauce a bit too sour/tangy. If you don't have plum sauce, you could use the pineapple juice in the can (if you're using canned pineapples).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
total and absolute yumminess!!! just tried it tonight and was glad I made double. This is definately a 5 star or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
To quote my husband..."this one's a keeper!" Excellent and easy. I put aside some pork and vegetables before adding the sauce for my picky four year...she gobbled it up. Like some of the other reviewers, I used all-purpose flour instead of the tapioca. Thank You Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I found this recipe really easy, but I did not deep fry the pork...just did it as directed in 2 Tbsp of oil for 10 minutes. With constant stirfrying it did not burn at all....SO tasty! We had it over crispy fried chinese noodles YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States