Sweet and Sour Pork I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The dish is very tasty and you should get a award for this because it's excellent and eveyone loves it. Thanks, Jennifer!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
husband really like it!! pretty simple and i even had some tapioca starch laying around because of a different chinese meal i made one time. the only problem i came across is that the ingredients called for 1 egg but no where in the recipe does it mention to add any egg. anyhow, it turned out very good. i left out the tomato and added water chesnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUANDLILYSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Was a yummy dish, but a tad too many ingredients to prep IMHO. I loved that it had lots of vitamin C in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This sauce is really good. I had some leftover cooked pork loin roast that I cut up in small cubes. I coated the pork cubes in cornstarch and browned in canola oil. Then I sauteed red bell pepper and onion-I did not use tomato or red chili pepper. In a small bowl I combined the sugar, no salt, cornstarch, white vinegar (only used 2 and 1/2 tbs per another reviewer), ketchup, used hoison sauce, and water. I did add a splash of lite soy sauce and the juice from the can of pineapple chunks. I combined the browned pork cubes, peppers and onions, pineapple, and gravy sauce and cooked until bubbly and thickened. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This dish was way too salty for me. I don't usually have that problem, but the salty flavor seemed to be way overpowering. I was suprised how easy the recipe was, though. I used regular flour like some other users said because I couldn't find tapioca flour. I also couldn't find plum sauce, but I made do with what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Just like the other reviews say... this is fabulous! I didn't bother looking for the tapioca starch I just used the corn starch like another reviewer suggested. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
We really liked this recipe. Even my picky teenager came back for seconds! I totally skipped dipping the pork in the egg and dredging it - still turned out fantastic and crip! Not big on green peppers, so I chopped them up fine. Except for the flavor they added, no one really noticed they were there... For those of you who looked for "Tapioca Starch" and failed - look for "Tapioca Flour" instead. It is actually one and the same! Bob's Red Mill is the brand I came up with and it is found in most of your health food aisle of your grocery store. The Tapioca Starch/Flour adds an additional slight sweetness to the recipe. You can substitute corn starch for this tho'. Use 1-Tbsp corn starch to every 2-Tbsp Tapioca Starch/Flour. If you have problems finding "Plum Sauce", you can usually find that in the Asian aisle of your grocery store by the other speciality sauces they offer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILREDCV

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This turned out to be really good. I didn’t have any “tapioca starch” (I hear they have some in Singapore, but I couldn’t afford to fly there) so I used corn starch instead. I also beat an egg and dipped the pork pieces into it before breading, even though the recipe left this step out. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. I’m giving it 5 stars because it really is that good. Next time I will add some crushed red pepper, and use 2 red chili peppers instead of one because I like the heat. Then I’ll give it 6 stars. This was easy to prepare, and tasted great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
My husband and I believe this is the best sweet and sour dish ever! It is easy to prepare and the sauce is over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I have tried a few sweet and sour pork recipes and this one is the best. It was tasty and looked almost exactly like what we order at restaurants. I used pork for stew to speed up the cooking time. Next time I will add more pineapple. This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States