Sweet and Sour Pork I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The dish is very tasty and you should get a award for this because it's excellent and eveyone loves it. Thanks, Jennifer!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
husband really like it!! pretty simple and i even had some tapioca starch laying around because of a different chinese meal i made one time. the only problem i came across is that the ingredients called for 1 egg but no where in the recipe does it mention to add any egg. anyhow, it turned out very good. i left out the tomato and added water chesnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUANDLILYSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Was a yummy dish, but a tad too many ingredients to prep IMHO. I loved that it had lots of vitamin C in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This sauce is really good. I had some leftover cooked pork loin roast that I cut up in small cubes. I coated the pork cubes in cornstarch and browned in canola oil. Then I sauteed red bell pepper and onion-I did not use tomato or red chili pepper. In a small bowl I combined the sugar, no salt, cornstarch, white vinegar (only used 2 and 1/2 tbs per another reviewer), ketchup, used hoison sauce, and water. I did add a splash of lite soy sauce and the juice from the can of pineapple chunks. I combined the browned pork cubes, peppers and onions, pineapple, and gravy sauce and cooked until bubbly and thickened. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This dish was way too salty for me. I don't usually have that problem, but the salty flavor seemed to be way overpowering. I was suprised how easy the recipe was, though. I used regular flour like some other users said because I couldn't find tapioca flour. I also couldn't find plum sauce, but I made do with what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Just like the other reviews say... this is fabulous! I didn't bother looking for the tapioca starch I just used the corn starch like another reviewer suggested. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
We really liked this recipe. Even my picky teenager came back for seconds! I totally skipped dipping the pork in the egg and dredging it - still turned out fantastic and crip! Not big on green peppers, so I chopped them up fine. Except for the flavor they added, no one really noticed they were there... For those of you who looked for "Tapioca Starch" and failed - look for "Tapioca Flour" instead. It is actually one and the same! Bob's Red Mill is the brand I came up with and it is found in most of your health food aisle of your grocery store. The Tapioca Starch/Flour adds an additional slight sweetness to the recipe. You can substitute corn starch for this tho'. Use 1-Tbsp corn starch to every 2-Tbsp Tapioca Starch/Flour. If you have problems finding "Plum Sauce", you can usually find that in the Asian aisle of your grocery store by the other speciality sauces they offer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILREDCV

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This turned out to be really good. I didn’t have any “tapioca starch” (I hear they have some in Singapore, but I couldn’t afford to fly there) so I used corn starch instead. I also beat an egg and dipped the pork pieces into it before breading, even though the recipe left this step out. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. I’m giving it 5 stars because it really is that good. Next time I will add some crushed red pepper, and use 2 red chili peppers instead of one because I like the heat. Then I’ll give it 6 stars. This was easy to prepare, and tasted great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
My husband and I believe this is the best sweet and sour dish ever! It is easy to prepare and the sauce is over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I have tried a few sweet and sour pork recipes and this one is the best. It was tasty and looked almost exactly like what we order at restaurants. I used pork for stew to speed up the cooking time. Next time I will add more pineapple. This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States