Sweet and Sour Pork I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! The batter on the pork was a little strange, but we figured out the egg should have been in the salt and baking soda mix so will do it right next time. We didn't have tapioca, so used corn starch, nor did we have plum sauce so used pineapple juice. It was savory, sweet, sour and beautiful. Way better than in many restaurants. Thanks, Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Best oriental dish I have ever made. Everybody in my household raved about it. So good wanted to get up and have it for breakfast. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
i tried this tonight and it is delicious. I think the egg is supposed to be mixed in with the baking soda and salt. also i used corn starch instead of tapioca flour... Five stars.. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I made this today and it was excellent. I didn't put any of the sugar in and used balsamic vinegar as that was all I had on hand but I really like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Great recipe. Made as directed except subbed pineapple juice for the plum sauce and water. Next time I would use pineapple tidbits instead of crushed, but that is just my preference. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
i didnt have any egg, so i dipped the pork in milk first then dipped into 4 tbs cornstarch, 4 tbs flour and 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp salt. and sauteed it. i sauteed my vegetables in another pan. the sauce i used the pineapple syrup from the canned pineapples and a little spicy chile sauce also didnt have any vinegar and used sake instead. overall a really good recipe will try again with vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very Good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I really liked this. I thought it was the perfect balance between sweet and sour. I am used to sweet and sour being "red" and this was not. That was a bonus to me. My husband isn't crazy about sweet and sour and he did not really like this. He thought there was too much pineapple in it. He ate it anyway though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
a great recipe, I used the syrup from the can of pineapple instead of plum sauce. But no major changes needed. I will make with chicken next time, but that really is just personal preference, nothing to do with the recipe itself! it was a lot of work, but tastes good so it's worth it as long as you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Pretty good, though DH was questioning it a bit. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States