Sweet and Sour Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I love these! I'm a big fan of pickled beets, but they are expensive in the stores. These are great and I wouldn't change a thing. Since I like them so well, I doubled the recipe. They are really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This recipe was perfect! My neighbor gave me some beets, I baked them at 325 for an hour, let them cool a bit and then used this recipe. I wanted a recipe that didn't need pickling spices, because I didn't have that on hand....this was exactly like grandmas! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I used fresh beets instead of canned, just boiled them for about 10 minutes before continuing with recipe. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These were absolutely delicious. I will use this recipe from now on when I cook beats. I doubled it because I had more beets to use, but I think I will try it with maybe less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I have made this delicious recipe numerous times. It is a real "keeper". I am now making triple batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Made this tonight using fresh beets that I had cooked. I used a sugar substitute. Delish! Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I loved the pinch of cinnamon. I used fresh boiled, peeled beets rather than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Awesome!!!!! My fiance doesn't eat beets and he loved these. Perfect, just the way it's written. I poured the leftovers onto hard-boiled eggs for some delicious pickled eggs! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was my first time pickling beets & I followed the recipe to a T only didn't include the eggs . Thankyou so much for a great recipe . I will be making them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent! Just the way I like them. I did add a few more cloves (just because I love them). I will definitely be trying this recipe with fresh garden beets this fall. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States