Sweet and Sour Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
So EASY, so DELICIOUS!! I made the recipe before just as it was written and we loved it. I made it again recently, but w/ beets from our garden. I forgot about needing to save the beet broth from cooking them and couldn't as I didn't clean them fully before boiling. Having looked at other recipes that incl orange zest, I got the idea to use 1/2 c orange juice and a splash of water instead. They turned out wonderfully tangy sweet w/ the smell and gentle taste of the orange too. And they are so pretty. I'm giving little jars of them as Christmas gifts; no one will expect this of me so I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
super easy and tastes great. I did add onion to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I used splenda & fresh beets. They turned out great!!! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
They tasted just like Mom's. The only thing I added was a pinch of allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Tasted really good. The cinnamon gave a real subtle boost in flavor. My daughter who has strong taste buds really enjoyed it. Will do it for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
i just found these to be way too syrupy sweet for my taste, but to each his own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were delicious. I used fresh beets. I will make them again. Don't forget to remove the cloves before serving....I missed one and my brother-in-law got an unpleasant surprise. AFTER MAKING MANY MORE TIMES: I don't use whole cloves, I use about a tsp of powdered cloves. I am asked for this recipe over and over. I always use fresh beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I used nutmeg in place of cloves. These were excellent! Messy but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissMorticia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent! Just the way I like them. I did add a few more cloves (just because I love them). I will definitely be trying this recipe with fresh garden beets this fall. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I was looking for something similar to my mother's pickled beets. I had to add more sugar to get the taste I wanted. The cinnamon added a pleasant surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalyn McHart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bakersville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States