Sweet and Sour Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I think this is one of the best meatloafs I have EVER had! I took other posters advice and did it on a roasting pan so it wasn't greasy AT ALL and I made the divit in the top of the meatloaf with a spoon so the sauce stayed on top (such a good idea!).. I also added a touch of garlic and wine seasoning from the melting pot (one of my favorites I add to just about everything) to the meatloaf and a little bit of worchestershire sauce to the meatloaf and sauce... I doubled the recipe and we have enough for dinner tomorrow.. I can not WAIT to eat it again tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I made this last night and my picky husband gave it two thumbs up (and he usually doesn't like my meatloaf)! I followed the advice of another poster and drained the fat before adding the sauce - that was necessary. Also, I added diced onion and bell pepper, and used jar marinara sauce instead of tomato sauce. Even my 3-year-old ate this (and she usually skips meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My entire family loves it! Best Meatloaf ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I added a bit of worcesershire, 1/2 c sauteed onions and green bell pepper. The sauce was outstanding, my fav. on any meatloaf to date. Also, for more texture bake the meatloaf on a roasting pan, not in the loaf pan, that has slots that allow it to drain the fat. It gives you those really good end pieces. Also, good tip about forming the swell to hold the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was absolutely fabulous. My very picky daughter even had THIRDS! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I'll be making this one on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AirForceChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years now and it never fails me. My husband and kids love it! I wouldn't change anything about it. Somethings are better left alone....this is one of them. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXGirl_Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was really good! A great alternative to regular meatloaf. My super picky son even liked, so it HAS to be good! I paired it with the broccoli and rice stir fry I also found on this site. I can't wait to use the sauce recipe for a meatball appetizer as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLouWho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Childress, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I made this for my family tonight as the recipe said to except i used cracker crumbs instead of the bread crums only because i did not have the bread crumbs, It turned out perfect even my pickey husband who hates meat loaf loved it even had secounds.. I will make this again for sure soon..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This by far is the best meatloaf!I use subsitute Splenda for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I thought this was good. I don't know how some people could double the sauce and have it all fit in the pan though. I chose not to double the sauce and thought it was plenty! Very simple to make, I will put this in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States