Sweet and Sour Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My family loves this recipe. I do NOT cook it in the micro. I just think that sounds HORRID! But baking it at 350* for a while is perfect. I do add a few more things that we like, spice and such. I add a dash of this and a dash of that into the topping b/c we like those things. But the onion soup mix makes it SO easy. And I use the whole thing. Usually I use a half # of beef and a whole # of turkey. This makes it hearty, yet a little healthier for my family. I love to pot the oven on broil for just a few seconds at the end, and get the ends all crispy and brown. YUM YUM. My stepson always says, "I know, I know, you get the butts!" LOL If I "slave" over that stove, I DESERVE THE GOOD PARTS! HaHa!! Anyhow, it's so flippin' easy and good. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Excellent Meatloaf!! Very flavorful, the whole family enjoyed. I added 1/2 lb. of ground pork and substituted 1 small chopped onion for the dehydrated onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suebesewing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I make this every time I make meatloaf now. Often I use this as a guest recipe. TIP - putting French's onions on top makes it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGINGCHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made this for the first time this evening and it was a big hit. I used tomato soup in plac of the tomato sauce and it worked out just fine. Even my ever-so-pickey 7 year old son ate it and enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I think this is one of the best meatloafs I have EVER had! I took other posters advice and did it on a roasting pan so it wasn't greasy AT ALL and I made the divit in the top of the meatloaf with a spoon so the sauce stayed on top (such a good idea!).. I also added a touch of garlic and wine seasoning from the melting pot (one of my favorites I add to just about everything) to the meatloaf and a little bit of worchestershire sauce to the meatloaf and sauce... I doubled the recipe and we have enough for dinner tomorrow.. I can not WAIT to eat it again tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I made this last night and my picky husband gave it two thumbs up (and he usually doesn't like my meatloaf)! I followed the advice of another poster and drained the fat before adding the sauce - that was necessary. Also, I added diced onion and bell pepper, and used jar marinara sauce instead of tomato sauce. Even my 3-year-old ate this (and she usually skips meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My entire family loves it! Best Meatloaf ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I added a bit of worcesershire, 1/2 c sauteed onions and green bell pepper. The sauce was outstanding, my fav. on any meatloaf to date. Also, for more texture bake the meatloaf on a roasting pan, not in the loaf pan, that has slots that allow it to drain the fat. It gives you those really good end pieces. Also, good tip about forming the swell to hold the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was absolutely fabulous. My very picky daughter even had THIRDS! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I'll be making this one on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AirForceChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years now and it never fails me. My husband and kids love it! I wouldn't change anything about it. Somethings are better left alone....this is one of them. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXGirl_Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States