Sweet and Sour Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
it was the best meatloaf i've ever had!! very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
We absolutely love this meatloaf, and more specifically, THE SAUCE! When I make this dish, I only add 1 egg and only 1-2 tablespoons of tomato sauce to the meat. I also add 1/2-1 cup grated cheddar cheese and I add 2 minced fresh garlic cloves. For the sauce I add the remaining tomato sauce. I find by adding it to the meat, the meatloaf itself is just too mushy. And because I love the sauce so much, this way you have alot more of it! An excellent, easy and authentically "homestyle" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I've used this recipe for years. I made it for the first time 9 years ago, at age 16, for my first boyfriend. He said it was the best meatloaf he'd ever had. I've made it numerous times for my current significant other since then, and he agrees. I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was a great recipe. I did have to make some substitutions because I didn't have exactly what was called for, but it still turned out really well. I didn't have any tomato sauce so I substituted two cans of Campbells Tomato basil and oregano soup - one can in the meat and one can for the sauce. Because the tomato soup is a bit sweeter than sauce I added an extra tbsp of vinegar and an extra tsp of mustard. I also substituted cracker crumbs for bread crumbs. Everything else was the same. The fact that it turned out, and we thought it was really good, just shows what a good recipe this was. Will make sure to have the right ingredients for next time. :) Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Delicious sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The best Meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
My 19 year old son made this for dinner, it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. The sauce was wonderful, but the meatloaf wasn't anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
If making with real meat, make sure to drain it after the initial cooking time. I actually prefer to make it veggie-style: Replace the ground beef with a 1 lb pkg of protein crumbles and then make up the extra difference with sautéed mushrooms, peppers, onions, and throw in some frozen cut up broccoli as well. It only has to cook 20 min before you put the sauce on since you're not cooking meat. You can also replace the sugars for Splenda blends with no real change in flavor. Incredible recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
A little too sweet for me, next time I'll add some hot sauce to the sauce before pouring it over the top, but my kid LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States