Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Even easier, slightly different (and tasty): Buy Trader Joes cocktail meatballs. Mix 2 jars chili sauce with 1 or 2 jars of smooth currant jelly. Mix in crock, toss in meatballs, cook a few hours. DELICIOUS! Great as cocktail meatballs with toothpicks, but also very tasty as meatball sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was a total hit at our house...not a common thing with 7 people to please. I did take some hints from other reviewers and added about a tablespoon of minced garlic and 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard to the sauce. I doubled the sauce, added a large bag (like 90 balls) of frozen meatballs, and cooked it all for 4 hours on low in my crock pot. I served it over rice and watched as the family licked their plates clean. (Really...some literally did...which gave us a chance to discuss manners.) I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I live in New Zealand now and they do not know what Grape Jelly is!! Does anyone have an idea was I could use intead please? Thanks, Frustrated Kiwi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is amazing, it's an easier version (and spicier) of my polynesian meatballs. I did half and half ground beef with pork sausage, I think I'll always do it this way. I put a 12 oz bottle of chili sauce and a huge dose of Siracha sauce in it. I was concerned the meatballs would fall apart but they eventually firmed up in the crockpot. This time I think I'll add a half-cup of italian bread crumbs. I will also add a can of chunked pineapple at the end this time, and serve it over white rice. Incredible! You can adjust the jelly or chili sauce to taste obviously for those that said they didn't like the flavor. (NEVER use frozen meatballs they can't even begin to compare!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanne918

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sekiu, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I almost always try a recipe as is before I alter it to my taste, however I couldn't wait to try this one so I used what I had on hand. First, I used ground turkey instead of beef, second I used apricot pineapple preserves instead of grape jelly. I did decide last minute to brown the meatballs in a skillet before putting them in the slow cooker. The balls, which I formed using a cookie scoop, didn't seem too sturdy and I wasn't convinced that they wouldn't fall apart. They simmered for an hour and a half and the sauce still seemed kind of watery so I cranked it up to high with the lid off so it could reduce some for about 30 to 45 more minutes. They were really yummy. My hubby rated it a 9 out of 10 and insisted that he take some to his buddy. I only got one :o(. I will surely make this again, next time I'll try it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I was asked to prepare "some food" for poker night at my husband's work and decided to do an array of appetizers. Wondering what to do with meatballs I did an internet search for meatball appetizers and this recipe came up 9 times out of 10. Who would've thought the bizarre sounding combination of grape jelly and chili sauce could turn out so delicious? But I figured since the recipe came up so many times there must be something good about it. I too, used frozen meatballs, combined the jelly and chili sauce in a saucepan to melt the jelly first (otherwise you end up with little purple blobs in the mix) put it in the crock pot. It's SO EASY and yummy! Why mess with it? There was no lemon juice called for in the recipe I used so not sure what it's purpose would be but I would think that cooking the meatballs in the sauce would result in a fair bit of grease. If I was actually making the meatballs from scratch for this recipe I would definitely pre-cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Used ground buffalo = no grease, and fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama sher

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Ifound the grape jelly too sweet. I use low sugar orange marmalade and find it excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I've made these for years. A tip...once I picked up grape jam by mistake but didn't have time to go back to the grocery. Well, the jam mixes in with the chili sauce much faster and smoother than the jelly, so it's what I use now. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I made these for dinner tonight using frozen meatballs and served over rice. They were delicious and very little effort was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States