Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Okay, I cheated. I used a box of frozen fully cooked meatballs. However, that sauce is to die for! A really nice change from our standard sweet&sour bottled sauce. I put the frozen meatballs and sauce in the slow cooker on low and they were ready 4 hours later. A double thumbs up from this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a huge hit in our home, especially around Super Bowl time. My girlfriend gave me this recipe before looking here online. Instead of using the lemon juice, I use 1 cup of pineapple juice. Excellent! If you like the pineapple chunks you can use those as well too. PS - I do cheat though! I've made the meatballs from scratch but I've found the frozen meatballs to be similar in taste and much easier! I throw everything in a pot and put it on low. In 2 hours I have every man's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Warning: These meatballs are addictive! I made these for a Christmas party at work last year, to which a co-worker said, "You should call these Really *bleep* Good Meatballs!" He even asked if he could have the leftovers. Very easy to make; very yummy to eat! Don't wait for a holiday... this makes a great dinner too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blanchester, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Easy and delicious! Took minutes to put ingredients together, cooked for 4 hours on low in crockpot. I tripled the recipe, used about 3 pounds of frozen 1/2 ounce meatballs. Believe it or not, 9 people consumed all 3 pounds of meatballs (people were unashamedly going back for third helpings!). I've never produced anything as popular as this dish from my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I too cheated and used frozen meatballs. They are good and a great time saver. This sauce is really good and soooo easy to put together and throw in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I prefer to make my meatballs with half ground beef and half pork sausage. It adds to the flavor, but you have to brown and drain before cooking them in the sauce. I also added some dijon mustard and garlic to the sauce to the cut the sweetness a little more. Made them recently for a cocktail party and everybody raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
The chili sauce in this recipe adds an extra "kick" that you usually don't find in traditional meatball recipes. They are a sure crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
These meatballs received rave reviews from guests and I ran out quickly. So easy and so delicious! The only thing I'd do differently is that I'd make a larger batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I used premade meatballs, dumped them in the crockpot frozen with the sauce and they cooked up just fine in the time allotted. Could not have been easier. I thought a bit bland, but very popular at the adult birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I only rated this 3 stars because not cooking the meatballs first made for a greasy mess. The sauce is very good, but I would seriously advise you cook the meatballs first, and drain them well, if you're going to use homemade meatballs. Otherwise, I'd do as others have suggested and use precooked, frozen meatballs. I prefer to make my own, however, as I know exactly what ingredients are going into them and knowing that there are no preservatives used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aniceprsn54

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States