Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I only rated this 3 stars because not cooking the meatballs first made for a greasy mess. The sauce is very good, but I would seriously advise you cook the meatballs first, and drain them well, if you're going to use homemade meatballs. Otherwise, I'd do as others have suggested and use precooked, frozen meatballs. I prefer to make my own, however, as I know exactly what ingredients are going into them and knowing that there are no preservatives used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aniceprsn54

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I have been making these meatballs for over 35 years - my son's birthday is New Years day and I always had a buffet that included these meatballs. I added a little horseradish to mine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have made these but used jellied cranberry sauce in place of grape jelly and had a little extra tang. They were less sweet than with jelly. Also added some cooked rice. Family cannot wait until they are done. I don't use a recipe, just add this and that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
These meatballs were pretty good, in my opinion, although my husband it not care for the sauce. I made my own meatballs, which barely held together long enough to put in a skillet. I browned them, basically to get them to "stick" in a ball shape. Then I baked them for about 20 minutes. I put them in the fridge overnight and placed them in the crockpot this afternoon. I would say that without browning them first, the whole thing would have been a big fat mess in the crockpot. Using premade meatballs would certainly make the recipe quick and easy! I served these with brown rice, pineapple, and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I was surprised this turned out good. This was quite awesome. A friend of mine hates meatballs but she ate every last bit of it and then demanded I make it again soon. ^^ So this recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Loved the recipe. Super easy and a real crowd pleaser. The sauce is truly amazing. I know the whole grape plus chili sauce sounds weird, but trust the recipe! It is goooood! The only thing I did differently was to bake the meatballs in the oven at 375 for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made these for a pot luck function and people loved them (as did I)! They were quick and easy to make. I used a little bit less than a whole onion as I felt as though a whole onion was too much. Also, I made turkey meatballs b/c turkey is what I had on hand. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
DELICIOUS Made 2 1/2 lbs today, cooked meatballs with egg and bread crumbs. I added a small can of crush pineapples, can of cranberry sauce, 6 ounces each of chile and grape jelly. Meatballs did not faLL apart. When forming the meatball, fill small cup with water and lightly dip hand in water and roll meatball. Coming from an italian familY, this is my mothers way of preventing meatballs from falling apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This recipe was a huge hit! I also used frozen meatballs and cooked them in the crock pot on low for 4 hours. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I have made these a few times already. I cheat and get the frozen meatballs. The beef and the Turkey meatballs taste great, hardley notice a difference. These have been a huge hit each time, and now I've been asked to make them for our superbowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States