Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Made these for an open house earlier this year and got rave reviews from everyone. They will now be an item served at ALL my parties. I doubled the recipe (I too used frozen "party" meatballs), dumped everything into a crock pot and let them simmer all day. A Very Big Hit!! and so so EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Greaet receipe! We use frozen italian meatballs as well and we have substituted different flavors of jelly- our favorite is black raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
My husband thinks these meatballs are the best thing ever! They have become a traditional Christmas Eve Buffet item for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Plan to try this recipe over the holidays. Sounds great to me!! Also, I think anyone who uses pre-made meatballs is insane and lazy. They are disgusting, full of chemicals and would make ANY recipe taste bad!! Can't wait to try these with REAL meatballs. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I have been making this recipe since 1994, when I got the recipe from a co-worker. they are a huge crowd pleaser!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I only rated this 3 stars because not cooking the meatballs first made for a greasy mess. The sauce is very good, but I would seriously advise you cook the meatballs first, and drain them well, if you're going to use homemade meatballs. Otherwise, I'd do as others have suggested and use precooked, frozen meatballs. I prefer to make my own, however, as I know exactly what ingredients are going into them and knowing that there are no preservatives used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aniceprsn54

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I have been making these meatballs for over 35 years - my son's birthday is New Years day and I always had a buffet that included these meatballs. I added a little horseradish to mine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have made these but used jellied cranberry sauce in place of grape jelly and had a little extra tang. They were less sweet than with jelly. Also added some cooked rice. Family cannot wait until they are done. I don't use a recipe, just add this and that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
These meatballs were pretty good, in my opinion, although my husband it not care for the sauce. I made my own meatballs, which barely held together long enough to put in a skillet. I browned them, basically to get them to "stick" in a ball shape. Then I baked them for about 20 minutes. I put them in the fridge overnight and placed them in the crockpot this afternoon. I would say that without browning them first, the whole thing would have been a big fat mess in the crockpot. Using premade meatballs would certainly make the recipe quick and easy! I served these with brown rice, pineapple, and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I was surprised this turned out good. This was quite awesome. A friend of mine hates meatballs but she ate every last bit of it and then demanded I make it again soon. ^^ So this recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States