Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Not a fan of these meatballs. I love sweet and sour meatballs but this just did not taste right! I do however have a child who liked them but he would eat just about anything! I am surprised with the reviews of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have actually made this recipe for years and it is definitely a family favorite. I make mine with ground turkey (less fat) and instead of grated onion, I use dried onion flakes...excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have used this recipe for years after a potluck at my house. I begged for the recipe and was shocked when I got it. Its soo easy to make and tastes great! Everyone in my family just loves this. I have even used veggie meatballs and my husband couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I also use frozen meatballs. I don't add the lemon juice. You can also make it with cranberry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years (sans lemon juice) and it is always a crowd pleaser! I always have people asking me, "Are you bringing your meatballs?". If you don't have time, you can always use the frozen, cooked meatballs and you just have to heat them through. You can let them thaw in your refrigerator for a day or cook longer if frozen. I use 3 jars of chili sauce and a 2 lb. jar of grape jelly to a 6 lb. bag of meatballs. If you find it too sweet, you can always use LESS jelly. You really cannot mess up this recipe. My husband was helping once and mistakingly grabbed a jar of cocktail sauce! The horseradish in the cocktail sauce really gave it a unique twist. I have even had people ask me if they could have the sauce after the meatballs have run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I've done the same using jellied cranberry sauce and a can of enchilada sauce. Great easy appetizer to bring to holiday parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Kingston, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I've had this made with apricot pineapple preserves instead of grape jelly and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have been preparing this since 1967 from The Elegant But Easy Cookbook. Everybody always enjoys them. One difference in this recipe is that the original one calls for 2 lbs ground meat. After I cook the meatballs, I slice up 2 lbs of beef hot dogs and add them to the mixture. It can be frozen at this point. Handy to have in the freezer. Adding the hot dogs doubles the amount and there is plenty of sauce for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have these for years. They are an appetizer. Only things I don't add is Lemon. I put toothpicks in them and put in chafing dish with candle below to keep warm Excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I found this recipe many years ago in a paperback version of a Better Homes & Garden cookbook I had purchased at a news stand. It was and continues to be a big hit with my family as well as coworkers and friends whenever I have taken to a potluck or holiday gathering. I have even used the sauce on the mini hot dogs and people have liked them as well. I have substituted jellied cranberry sauce for the grape jelly sometimes too...both sauces taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverdale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States