Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I love this recipe, but really, there is no benefit to slow cooking the meatballs. And it's a must that you brown them in a skillet first. So, I think a bit better way to make them is to prepare the meatball mixture, (I use ground turkey in place of beef to lighten the calorie and fat content and really, they are just as yummy), roll into balls and brown in a skillet. Remove browned meatballs and set aside while you pour off the grease, but leave as many "brown bits" in the pan as you can. Then, to this skillet, prepare the sauce, add the browned meatballs and simmer for about 30 minutes or until meatballs are cooked through. Easy and delicious!! (And you only used one pan for the whole dish - yay!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
These were a hit at a Cotton Bowl party for the Fightin' Texas Aggies! The recipe is super easy. I doubled the recipe for a larger group. The meatballs took only a few minutes to roll, and I was able to use grass-fed beef. I also baked them in the oven for 60 minutes at 350 degrees and then finished them off in a crock pot at the party. These are now my favorite appetizers to take parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great recipe, but recipe should include the following information: Cook your meatballs in the oven first before adding to your sauce and use the Heinz chili sauce. I bought Asian garlic chili sauce at first. Luckily I tested a small sample and figured out I had the wrong chili sauce. Finally, the meatballs need to cook for about 3 hours in the sauce so that the flavor will be absorbed into the meatballs. The end result was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixiebee700

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were a big hit at my party...Followed the sauce recipe exact . bought pre-made meatballs. every family at the party wanted the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Really enjoyed these meatballs. I did cheat (like others) and used already prepared frozen meatballs. They were just the right amount of spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hebron, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
The sauce is spectacular but if you are going to cook this dish make the meatballs from scratch because pre-cooked meatballs is a total waste of such spectacular sauce. It's great with pasta, great with rice, just DELICIOUS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Love this recipe..... Simple & delicious... Everyone loved.... The next time I'll probably add the sweet n sour sauce into the meat mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made this for the first time....sorta cheated by using store bought meatballs but having said that, everyone LOVED them!!!! Simple, fast and tasty!!! We just added some french fries baked in the oven for a side dish. I will hand make the meatballs next time. The only advice Id have to give is to make sure you use as lean of meat as you can and if you need to precook and drain them, then by all means do so. Its worth the extra hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruger12pk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Even easier, slightly different (and tasty): Buy Trader Joes cocktail meatballs. Mix 2 jars chili sauce with 1 or 2 jars of smooth currant jelly. Mix in crock, toss in meatballs, cook a few hours. DELICIOUS! Great as cocktail meatballs with toothpicks, but also very tasty as meatball sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was a total hit at our house...not a common thing with 7 people to please. I did take some hints from other reviewers and added about a tablespoon of minced garlic and 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard to the sauce. I doubled the sauce, added a large bag (like 90 balls) of frozen meatballs, and cooked it all for 4 hours on low in my crock pot. I served it over rice and watched as the family licked their plates clean. (Really...some literally did...which gave us a chance to discuss manners.) I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States