Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Getting ready to do this for a second family reunion and they disappeared the first time so making a double bunch! Added a little hot turkey sausage....very little.....and put a cranberry in the middle as a surprise: Big hit! Made them about 3/4" each as an appetizer with picks. Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Carroll

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe was really, really good,even my picky teenager liked it. After cooking the meatballs, I removed them from the pan, drained most of the drippings then sautéed onions, snow peas & celery (what I had on hand; was wishing I had water chestnuts too) until tender, then returned the meatballs to the pan and added the sauce. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I haven't made these yet, but have made similar. I too, would pre-cook the meatballs. 350 degrees for about 10 mins. Make the sauce on the stove top, then mix all together in a casserole dish and bake in the oven until sauce is bubbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Thank you for this recipe, super easy and unbelievably tasty. Im a single living with 3 fast-food loving roomates. Thr most they have ever cooked is reheated fast-food in the microwave. We made a large meal serving 20 and needed something delicious. I decided to take my chances with these meatballs. Our guests were dumbfounded. I have a guy coming over to me like, bro u gotta tell me how u made this, its so darn good. I didn't tell him because chefs never tell their secrets. I listened to another person and put in pineapple juice I also added a bit of ketchup and a tinge of soy sauce. Wow it was good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Loved the recipe but next time I will use a lot less chili sauce. Way too spicy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These things need to come with a warning: Will set your mouth on fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T, the meatballs did not cook and I left them in the slow cooker on high for over 2 hours. Disappointing to open a meatball and see red/pink on the inside. We left them on low for another 8 hours while we went out to dinner, and they finally cooked, the sauce was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
this was top notch, I used Hot chilli sauce and followed the recipe from scratch. Could not stop sampling while the rest of supper cooked. I think you could use any chilli sauce you like, hot or otherwise, any brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norman D.  Wiedenman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I make these every year for our family Christmas Eve gathering and they are always a hit! I do cheat a little though and by the pre-done meatballs! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States