Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years (sans lemon juice) and it is always a crowd pleaser! I always have people asking me, "Are you bringing your meatballs?". If you don't have time, you can always use the frozen, cooked meatballs and you just have to heat them through. You can let them thaw in your refrigerator for a day or cook longer if frozen. I use 3 jars of chili sauce and a 2 lb. jar of grape jelly to a 6 lb. bag of meatballs. If you find it too sweet, you can always use LESS jelly. You really cannot mess up this recipe. My husband was helping once and mistakingly grabbed a jar of cocktail sauce! The horseradish in the cocktail sauce really gave it a unique twist. I have even had people ask me if they could have the sauce after the meatballs have run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I've done the same using jellied cranberry sauce and a can of enchilada sauce. Great easy appetizer to bring to holiday parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Kingston, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I've had this made with apricot pineapple preserves instead of grape jelly and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jentoft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have been preparing this since 1967 from The Elegant But Easy Cookbook. Everybody always enjoys them. One difference in this recipe is that the original one calls for 2 lbs ground meat. After I cook the meatballs, I slice up 2 lbs of beef hot dogs and add them to the mixture. It can be frozen at this point. Handy to have in the freezer. Adding the hot dogs doubles the amount and there is plenty of sauce for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have these for years. They are an appetizer. Only things I don't add is Lemon. I put toothpicks in them and put in chafing dish with candle below to keep warm Excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I found this recipe many years ago in a paperback version of a Better Homes & Garden cookbook I had purchased at a news stand. It was and continues to be a big hit with my family as well as coworkers and friends whenever I have taken to a potluck or holiday gathering. I have even used the sauce on the mini hot dogs and people have liked them as well. I have substituted jellied cranberry sauce for the grape jelly sometimes too...both sauces taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverdale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
My mother used to make this recipe back in the 60's. It was always a huge hit with everyone and a staple at every holiday get together. I personally always thought it was a little on the sweet side. I started using 12 oz of chili sauce and 6 oz of grape jelly and that made it a little less sweet. Glad to see that the recipe is still out there after all these years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Why would you give a recipe five stars if you don't follow every step and use only the ingredients suggested??? UGH. This recipe is super simple and tasty, AS IS. Kids and adults really love it - it's perfect with pasta, rice, or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Try using whole berry cranberry sauce instead, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
i have tried this receipe many ways...to answer that person in Australia. Jelly is like Fruit spread, like a jam. i have used cranberry sauce, orange marmelade, honey anything of that sort. i have also used homemade meatballs and frozen. This combination is always good but i do add garlic and some red pepper flakes for a little extra zing. Not too much, just a pinch of pepper and about a clove of garlic minced. Party appetizer, or main dish, this is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States