Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Went over well for potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe almost exactly - I added 1/2 cup panko to the meatballs to help them hold together - and I ended up with a pile of raw meat sitting in a weird stew of liquid fat and sauce. It looks like the recipe is missing a step to pre-cook the meatballs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Nope! The meatball was dry and bland and the sauce didn't taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious! I like to spice up my meatballs a bit more and saute the onion with garlic before mixing into the meatballs. I always bake my meatballs to drain the fat (even extra lean)which, is great for large batches. I liked the use of cranberry jelly too. I don't own a crock pot but maybe I will soon. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Amazing!! I used frozen meatballs. It couldn't be easier or tastier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I love this recipe, but really, there is no benefit to slow cooking the meatballs. And it's a must that you brown them in a skillet first. So, I think a bit better way to make them is to prepare the meatball mixture, (I use ground turkey in place of beef to lighten the calorie and fat content and really, they are just as yummy), roll into balls and brown in a skillet. Remove browned meatballs and set aside while you pour off the grease, but leave as many "brown bits" in the pan as you can. Then, to this skillet, prepare the sauce, add the browned meatballs and simmer for about 30 minutes or until meatballs are cooked through. Easy and delicious!! (And you only used one pan for the whole dish - yay!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
These were a hit at a Cotton Bowl party for the Fightin' Texas Aggies! The recipe is super easy. I doubled the recipe for a larger group. The meatballs took only a few minutes to roll, and I was able to use grass-fed beef. I also baked them in the oven for 60 minutes at 350 degrees and then finished them off in a crock pot at the party. These are now my favorite appetizers to take parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great recipe, but recipe should include the following information: Cook your meatballs in the oven first before adding to your sauce and use the Heinz chili sauce. I bought Asian garlic chili sauce at first. Luckily I tested a small sample and figured out I had the wrong chili sauce. Finally, the meatballs need to cook for about 3 hours in the sauce so that the flavor will be absorbed into the meatballs. The end result was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixiebee700

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were a big hit at my party...Followed the sauce recipe exact . bought pre-made meatballs. every family at the party wanted the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Really enjoyed these meatballs. I did cheat (like others) and used already prepared frozen meatballs. They were just the right amount of spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hebron, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States