Sweet and Sour Meatballs (Suan T'ien Niu Jou Po Lo La Tzu) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I have tried other recipes, and this one is my family's favorite. I always make extra for left overs too. I do add more veggies though. Always extra peppers and sometimes celery too. What ever I have that might work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Another great use for hamburger. This turned out very good. My family really enjoyed this dish. I used dried minced onion in the meatballs. I sauteed the onion and the green pepper strips with the meatballs just before I poured the sauce over. I used rice vinegar. My husband isn't a pineapple fan, so he just picked the meatballs out of the sauce, but even he enjoyed this dish. I'll keep this recipe in my file, thanks so much! UPDATE 4-2011: I fixed this using fresh minced onion in the meatballs, added a little panko bread crumbs to the beef, I used canned pineapple and the juice from the can, didn't have carrot and tossed in the onion and some diced green pepper from the freezer (still frozen) in to the sauce and cooked it a few minutes. Awesome recipe! Super Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
excellent my family loved these....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was great but I made it a little better. First the sauce must be a clear color and takes over the flavor of the meat. The meat also needed a little help. This is what I did. For the meatballs, I added 1 TBS of Worcestershire Sauce and used 1 TBS Arrowroot instead of the other starches because there is no flavor and it is clear. For the sauce, I substituted again Arrowroot for the other starch mixture for a clear and no aftertaste thickener. I also changed the 1/2 cup sugar to 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup Brown sugar and I added 1 TBS Lemon Juice for tartness. This turned out clean, clear with a lot of sweet/sour flavor. My family of 62 people, all home styled Chefs thought it was great. I married a Russian. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Haney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Simferopol, Crimea (Autonomous Republic), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I used the sauce from this recipe to make sweet and sour chicken, and it was wonderful - best sweet and sour I've ever had. The fiancee agrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Very good recipe! My suggestions: Double the sauce ingredients if you are serving over rice. Want to cut calories? Use splenda instead of sugar. Spray Pam in pan prior to browning meatballs and omit oil prior to adding pineapple juice. If sauce is too thick for you add additional juice or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERBBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Great! Added chunks of pineapple to the meat prior to making the meatballs. Added just a little zest, and blended great with the rest of the recipe. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Made this for dinner last nite, the sauce was great, even my picky 6 yr. old ate it on rice. The meat balls were just a little blaa, not a big hit. Will try again with my meatballs. Thanks for the great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Good, I made the meatballs over the week end for a quick dinner on a busy Monday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hinckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I really liked the meatballs using ground chicken instead of the ground beef and will use the meatball recipe again but where I had problems was with the sauce. I followed the sauce recipe exactly and found that 3 TBSP of cornstarch for the amount of liquid seemed to be too much, I ended up with a very thick gluey type sauce. I had to add more liquid and in the end added 1/4 cup ketchup and 2/3 cup of water and it tasted quite good. I did measure my cornstarch accurately and used level TBSP's not heaping, so not quite sure what I did wrong,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States