Sweet and Sour Meatballs (Suan T'ien Niu Jou Po Lo La Tzu) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I've made this recipe before, and definitely recommend doubling the sauce. I also toss in a little lemon or lime juice for extra tartness. Last night, though, in a fit of crazy brilliance, I threw in some fresh cranberries with the pineapple juice, and later added a couple of spare jalepenos! Sure the cranberries turned the leftovers a very unique shade of purple - but the flavour was GREAT! And a nice little zip to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was so good. It's such a great way to use pineapple and ground beef together. My husband was skeptical when I told him about this recipe, but he loved it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Very good. I boiled the meatballs to cut back fat. Added mushrooms just because I like mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Very yummy - taste like we Chinese restaurant sweet & sour. Very sweet too but everyone loved them. I used homemade ground turkey meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This received a luke warm reception from the family. It wasn't bad---actually the sauce was good, but, we didn't care for the beef w/sweet & sour sauce...prefer chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I doubled the sauce for these meatballs. My daughter and I are also vegetarian, so I made the meatballs using GimmeLean soy, and they were great. I think the sauce is very good, but my husband thought it was too sweet. Next time I make it, I will try adding lemon juice as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I have made this recipe twice, and there is just enough sauce. The first time I doubled the sauce as others had mentioned. It made too much sauce, and all we tasted was the sauce. The second time we kept the recipe as is, and it was perfect. As for the meatballs, I was leary about using cornstarch, but I did and they were the best meatballs I tasted. They were moist, delicate and just melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
my 6 yr old ate three HUGE meatballs.....definately a family fave! i put extra pineapple, and carrots and celery for extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
There was literally nothing left!! Everyone loved this dish and it was easy. I doubled the sauce, as some here suggested, and I didn't have cornstarch, so I just used some flour. Next time I might consider using frozen meatballs, to speed up the process a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I have tried other recipes, and this one is my family's favorite. I always make extra for left overs too. I do add more veggies though. Always extra peppers and sometimes celery too. What ever I have that might work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States