Sweet and Sour Meatballs in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
The meatballs themselves were bland. The sauce was too sweet, and I had lowered the amount of sugar and ketchup required. Loved the tang of the spices, and I would try it again with less sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I wanted to try something different and this recipe sounded delicious! I was, however, forced to make 2 changes because of not having the right and correct amount of ingredients. My only tweaks were adding 6 honey garlic Italian sausage links (out of casing) to the ground beef and using meat sauce rather than tomato sauce (was out of tomato sauce). Other than that, this dish turned out superb! I served over rice as suggested and my husband just loved it! I'll be making this dish again! Thank you Rebekah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I wanted to rate this 3.5 stars b/c they are better than ok. Just too sweet for us, AND I didn't even use all the sugar it said to! I used 1/2c each. Next time I'll use even less. Good spicy twist to it, if you can get the sugar balanced correctly, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I gave this a 5 star because it is a fabulous BASE recipe that can easily be changed to suit your family's taste buds! All of my family enjoys this, even the toddler who normally won't eat ANYTHING with a sauce on it!! First time, made as written... it was good, but was missing something. Second time, I used my meatball recipe, cut sauce in 1/2 and added 1/2 tsp rice vinegar and 1/2 tsp lemon juice to the sauce... MUCH better and with this I realized it was versatile. Last night, I used the sauce recipe with stir fry veggies/ chicken and served over rice... FABULOUS!! Add soy sauce (to taste) and it makes a very light terriyaki sauce. Thank you SOOOOOOO much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
My family love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Awesome!! Super easy and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I love this recipe, I make my meatballs much smaller, it just takes more prep time, they are great on hot dog buns as well as rice or pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
great. add lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I've made this MANY times already and we love it - it makes more than enough sauce so you could cut it back a little bit if you wanted to. We love it every time I make it - it's become a "frequent flyer" with my menu planning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I did this a little differently, and instead of throwing everything into the oven, I let it simmer on the stove while I prepared and fried the meatballs, and then tossed the meat into the sauce and let it simmer longer until the rice was done. I also used cornstarch to thicken it since I took the stove-top shortcut. I was very skeptical of the sauce, but it turned out fantastic. It was absolutely perfect with the meatballs and served over rice. I've done different recipes before and they were too sweet that even my kids wouldn't eat it. The tomato sauce really mellowed it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States