Sweet and Sour Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I used beef/veal/pork meatloaf mix for the meatballs. Served over Basmati rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Schilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I added bread crumbs and an egg to the ground meat and browned it in a little vegetable oil before putting adding the other ingredients. Next time I am going to cut the brown sugar to 1/4 cup because it was a little sweet and substitute a can of whole berry cranberry sauce instead of the jellied cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I would like more sauce though because I added brown rice to mine and used turkey meatballs. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Delicious! I used frozen meatballs and followed the recipe exactly. It wasn't too sweet for us using the 1/2 cup brown sugar. Husband and stepson liked it too. I served it with rice and an asian veggie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I must admit i was leery at first about trying these....but they were delicious ...they have a very distinct flavor...i think these meatballs will double as a delicious yet different pasta topping...the only changes i made was adding about a teaspoon of garlic salt and pepper and i also added red pepper flakes for some heat....i really enjoyed this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This recipe was AWESOME. I made my own meatballs using stale bread, breadcrumbs, eggs, onion/garlic powders, salt/pepper, and diced onions. I fried them until browned and then added them to the crockpot with the remaining ingredients. I used a whole can of sauerkraut, a whole can of jellied cranberry sauce, 8 oz. of BASIC tomato sauce and a can of diced tomatoes w/sweet onion. I eyed the brown sugar, and added a bit more about 2hrs into the cooking process after tasting. I served it over buttered Jasmine rice. I love putting hot sauce on this recipe, so if you like it, try it on this for sure!!! This is a recipe that reminds me of the tastes of my grandparents cooking. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Loved them. Quick easy meal with noodles/rice or great for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna
Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
TASTE AWESOME. I have a 3qt slow cooker I believe (its pretty small). 1bag meatballs (2lb), 1 jar pasta sauce(ragu 6cheese flavor), 1can bravarian sauerkraut(rinsed), 1 can whole jellied cranberries, half cup brown sugar. Set it on low overnight and BAM. These taste sweeter than normal meatballs, very good combination of flavors!******update***made this again, followed recipe exactly, served over pasta AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Instead of spaghetti sauce I use heinz chili sauce and instead of cranberry sauce I use whole cranberries in the sauce. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Received lots of compliments. Easy dish to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talldall
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States