Sweet and Sour Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I think I may be the only 3 star rating thus far, but I'm sorry I wasn't that impressed with these meatballs. The sauce is a very very mild "sweet and sour" but you really have to "taste" for the sour. As other reviewers noted, it is very sweet. So to the reviewer with the picky eater husband who complained they were too sweet, he was right on. I really wanted something with more kick. I should have tried one of the recipes with the chili sauce. I brought this to a potluck last night and brought home more than half the meatballs, so that should explain itself. I'll keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Huge hit with hubby and teenagers. I hesitated to tell them the ingredients but my family doesnt freak out over stuff like that and they were all amazed how good they turned out. Will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I too, was a little put off by the different mixture of ingredients, but I decided to try it, and I'm glad I did! This is wonderful, and Joy is right, addicting! I also added kilebasa sausage to the recipe. It was enough for me and hubby to have leftovers. I ate it all through the next day as I couldn't stay out of it and was really mad when hubby stole the last of it to take to work! This has become a favorite for us! YUM! Thanks Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Wow- okay, I'm the child of a chef, have been to the very finest restaurants and am very cautious about making a new recipe for guests without giving it a test drive with the family BUT... this was the hit of my party. Don't be afraid to try it especially with all the ingredients that don't seem like they would be appealing together. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
5 friends and myself were testing recipes for sweet and sour meatballs. This one came in second..but it was close. They came out on the sweet side. We all agreed that the sauce would be fantastic on spareribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This recipe is amazing! My entire family loved it.. I was also a little leary of the combination, but turned out perfection! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I too thought that with this unusual mix of ingredients this recipe had to be good to take to a potluck at work and I was not disappointed--they were wonderful! Only change I made was to use the whole jar of spaghetti sauce the first time I made them because the mixture seemed "dry" to me when I mixed it up (maybe I used too many meatballs). Made the recipe again the following week and used the whole jar of the next larger size of spaghetti sauce and loved this consistency even better! A definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Everyone at my luau LOVED these! They went quick. I used frozen meatballs and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I was a little tenetive to make this recipe for a party because of the odd ingredients. In the end, the meatballs turned out great and everyone at the party loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was such a bizarre combo of ingredients that I figured it HAD to be good - and it sure was!! The flavor of the sauce is sort of like pickled red cabbage. I used homemade turkey meatballs. This was really delicious. My husband did not like it though (hence the 4 stars instead of 5), he thought it was too sweet (but he's a very picky eater!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States