Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
These were fabulous! I made them for a church function and they were all gone. I used 70 Costco frozen meatballs (half the bag), 2-12oz jars of chili sauce (Food Lion brand was all I could get), 1.5 cups of grape jelly and almost one can of crushed pineapple! OMG good!!! I put them in the crockpot at 10am, and got home at 2pm. Cooked on low. They were done! The meatballs tasted like the frozen meatball I am used to. I didn't need them until 5pm though, so just left them on low to cook another two hours. Boy did this change them! They ended up SO tender and good, changed the taste to more of a homemade taste and the sauce was just perfect. Wasn't too thin at all, or too thick. Didn't taste BBQish to me at all, which I feared..not a fan. So, I will always just cook on low for 6 hours from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I make a similar version except I use salsa 16 oz of salsa vs chili sauce and 16 oz of jelly or equal parts jelly to salsa if you use the store brought meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I browned the meatballs in the oven first to remove the fat and substituted the chili sauce with barbecue sauce. I omitted the lemon and threw it all in the crockpot at low for 2 hrs. Just as good as those prepared packaged meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This recipe was fantastic. Easy to prepare and everyone loved it. Definitly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Best sweet and sour meatballs I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I tried this one out of curiosity. Grape jelly and chili sauce. What!? It was soo good. The first time I did it I made the meatballs and the second I used frozen. Both were awesome. I did make a substitution. I think I read a review where they used pineapple juice instead of lemon. Well I took a can of pineapple chunks and dumped it in juice and all. When it was close to done I added constarch to thicken it. Now that is only because I added more liquid than the recipe called for. My family loved having pineapple as well as meatballs to eat with thier rice. This recipe is a keeper. It's also been a great way to get rid of this generic grape jelly I bought that is so sweet it's yucky. It's great in the recipe. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDENICOL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
These meatballs were a hit! I personally didn't care for the sauce but I made these for a party and everyone loved them! I bought meatballs from costco(140ct) and doubled the sauce recipe. I browned the meatballs in a frying pan with crushed pineapple and onions. Tastes great without the sauce also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
AWESOME!!!!!! I made these for a small family picnic. They were gone in an hour. A big hit. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Wilmington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I cut the recipe in half.Absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States