Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is a good basic recipe but way to sweet. I'd definitely brown them first, otherwise they get crumbly. I also added about 3 tablespoons of white vinegar to give it some tang and some dashes of hot sauce. It cut down on the sweetness. Next time, I will definitely add less jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
A hit at daughters christmas potlock at school. however i choose to use frozen meatball and for a touch of spice I added one tablespoon of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was delicious! Made them for Christmas appetizer and the whole family loved them! My husband wanted me to use the recipe for meatball subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
MMMMmmmmmm.....great comfort food on a cold day, makes the house smell delicious. I have made this a few times, and my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This recipe was pretty good and went over well at a party I had recently. I used pre-cooked meatballs because they're just so much easier and sugar free jelly. This was a nice change to the normal barbeque variety you find frequently for appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
We thought it was just a bit too sweet. I doubled the original sauce recipe for a 40 oz bag of frozen meatballs and it was the correct amount of sauce for the number of meatballs. I added 8 oz of Sweet Baby Ray's buffalo wing sauce and it made the sauce less sweet & more spicy. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used turkey as a substitute for the meat and browned the meatballs the night before then finished cooking them the next morning in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
These were fabulous! I made them for a church function and they were all gone. I used 70 Costco frozen meatballs (half the bag), 2-12oz jars of chili sauce (Food Lion brand was all I could get), 1.5 cups of grape jelly and almost one can of crushed pineapple! OMG good!!! I put them in the crockpot at 10am, and got home at 2pm. Cooked on low. They were done! The meatballs tasted like the frozen meatball I am used to. I didn't need them until 5pm though, so just left them on low to cook another two hours. Boy did this change them! They ended up SO tender and good, changed the taste to more of a homemade taste and the sauce was just perfect. Wasn't too thin at all, or too thick. Didn't taste BBQish to me at all, which I feared..not a fan. So, I will always just cook on low for 6 hours from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I make a similar version except I use salsa 16 oz of salsa vs chili sauce and 16 oz of jelly or equal parts jelly to salsa if you use the store brought meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I browned the meatballs in the oven first to remove the fat and substituted the chili sauce with barbecue sauce. I omitted the lemon and threw it all in the crockpot at low for 2 hrs. Just as good as those prepared packaged meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States