Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Made for Super Bowl and these were AWESOME! The grape flavor was a little strong but in all fairness I didn't measure it I just dumped 2/3 of the container in. To compensate I added vinegar to cut the sweetness and some ketchup. Also added a small can of pineapple chunks. Had with some rice but would prefer with egg noodles. Will try next time with green and red peppers. Thanks for sharing...definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I added ginger to the meat balls and omited the chili sauce and jelly and served the meat balls with chinnese sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Made this for the family and they loved it. I read other reviews and liked some of the suggestions, such as added the pineapples and cooking with egg noodles...AWESOME...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
ok I followed the directions, including the 4 to 5 hrs on high in a crock pot. Bad mistake, they were burnt beyond being able to eat. The only thing I can say is I tasted them about 2 hrs in and they tasted good then, so tonight I am trying this recipe again. But will not cook as long or as high temp as 1st time. I will not trust leaving them alone just because they are in a crock pot. I gave this a 3 star just because I liked what i tasted initially, but in following the recipe the cooking time was off. I will post again after today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
More spicy than sweet and sour. I added onions, green peppers and pineapple to the sauce... Still way more Mexican flavored than sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolshades21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was very good, mostly sweet though. I will definately make them again ,it was soo easy. I was lazy and used premade meat balls and let them sit over night in the sauce to soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Sorry, these were not very good. Meatballs were too dry, the sauce was way too sweet! I will not make again and will stick w/store bought ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Sorry, I did not like how the meatballs were swimming in fat after cooking. This made me throw away the sauce. This is unfortunate because it was probably good. I will try this recipe again by first baking the meatballs to get rid of the unecessary grease and then using the crockpot with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Awesome recipe, used frozen meatballs for the neighbours potluck, and they turned out great. I doubled the batch to be sure there was enough and they were all gone! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Bringing these tomorrow to a holiday office potluck. I tripled the recipe, substituted onion powder and flakes for the onions, added garlic powder and Italian seasoned breadcrumbs to the meatballs, which I baked for approx. 15 min. They will marinate overnight in the fridge (in the crock pot) and hopefully soak up even more of the wonderful sweet/tangy flavors I couldn't resist trying out tonight! Thanks for a quick and easy crowd-pleaser (I'm hoping.....!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States