Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Just too sweet with a definite kick to it! I didn't have enough sauce in the slow cooker so I added some red wine, oh and I did add breadcrumbs to the meatballs. It was just not what I was hoping for a meal, it will be a good apetizer for a party though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wantagh, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years with excellent results. I make the meatballs with 1/2 ground turkey and 1/2 lean ground beef mixed with egg, little oatmeal for binding, garlic, onion, parsley or whatever I have on hand and then gently "brown" the meatballs on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. I then drain off excess fat and cool them enough to handle before adding them (couple at a time) to the crockpot with the already warm sauce and heat on low for a couple hours, giving them a gentle "toss" once or twice. Thank you for reminding me of this wonderful and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovin' Life Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I used frozen meatballs, which i believe was a terrible mistake, sauce was greasy and just seemed like it was missing something next time i will use lean sirloin otherwise it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Made them for a potluck and they were a hit! Definitely would recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this with leftover (homemade) cranberry sauce instead of jelly. . . it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Made the recipe as specified, but subbing in vegan substitutes for meat and egg. Had to add some breadcrumbs to try and get the meatballs to remain meatballs, but they fell apart in the slow cooker anyway. Despite how that turned out, the taste itself was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Made them for a party and they were gonners! Very Very Very GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These turned out great! My kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Really very easy and the flavor was nice, I thought the grape jelly might be weird but it worked out perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
So easy to make it has become a favorite where I go...can't mess this one up. I use frozen Meatballs and I've noticed that the meatballs taste much better the next day, The Sweat and Sour Mix just has more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kensington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States