Sweet and Sour Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This recipie was so easy. And it tastes great. I fried the meatballs before I put them in the slow cooker. It made them stay together as I was worried they would fall apart after 5 hours in the slow cooker. I would not cook them anymore than 5 hours though...they were done by that time and too delicious to wait any longer to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
VERY easy. I made it while at a conference in a hotel. mixed it right in the crock pot 6 hours before the room party. I used one bottle of ketchup, one of chile paste and half a bottle of jelly for my back of 140 meatballs. I used the italian style cuz that's all they had, but plain would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Delicious! I do substitute the ketchup and I also brown them in a frying pan so I can stir them in the crockpot. My kids even like them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Just too sweet with a definite kick to it! I didn't have enough sauce in the slow cooker so I added some red wine, oh and I did add breadcrumbs to the meatballs. It was just not what I was hoping for a meal, it will be a good apetizer for a party though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wantagh, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years with excellent results. I make the meatballs with 1/2 ground turkey and 1/2 lean ground beef mixed with egg, little oatmeal for binding, garlic, onion, parsley or whatever I have on hand and then gently "brown" the meatballs on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. I then drain off excess fat and cool them enough to handle before adding them (couple at a time) to the crockpot with the already warm sauce and heat on low for a couple hours, giving them a gentle "toss" once or twice. Thank you for reminding me of this wonderful and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovin' Life Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I used frozen meatballs, which i believe was a terrible mistake, sauce was greasy and just seemed like it was missing something next time i will use lean sirloin otherwise it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Made them for a potluck and they were a hit! Definitely would recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this with leftover (homemade) cranberry sauce instead of jelly. . . it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Made the recipe as specified, but subbing in vegan substitutes for meat and egg. Had to add some breadcrumbs to try and get the meatballs to remain meatballs, but they fell apart in the slow cooker anyway. Despite how that turned out, the taste itself was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Made them for a party and they were gonners! Very Very Very GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States